We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the Guilded Age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Return to the Guilded Age”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We spent two perfect days at the Chanler. The setting is special, at the beginning of the Cliff Walk overlooking the water and a terrific beach. the rooms are very well appointed, with each one a different and special theme. The bar and dinning room face the ocean view. We found the staff to be energetic, friendly and helpful.
The food was very good and well presented and served by the attentive staff.
The rooms are all an experience and some are just spectacular with hot tubs, saunas and views.
The hotel is within walking distance to town and most of the historic houses, but a car service provided by the hotel will pick up and deliver in Newport.

Room Tip: All rooms are special. Garden and Ocean villas are expensive, but worth the price for the experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler234280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    67
    28
    16
    17
See reviews for
80
531
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We just returned from a two night stay at the Chanler. We loved the place. My only disappointment was that our room had no bathtub. It sounds like they all have tubs but ours did not. Everything else was wonderful. Our waitress Maureen was great!!

Room Tip: Ask if it has a bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Chanler is the stay perfect place to stay in Newport. Service is exceptional and not pretentious. Attention is given to every detail. Our latest visit was a special offer as a result of
an ealier opening. We were assigned a villa, which included a private sauna and jacuzzi, a private terrace, with a spectacular view of the ocean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The Spiced Pear ,is a gourmet restaurant, with impeccable service. The fabulous breakfast was part of the hotiel package. I highly recommend the Chanler.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel are lovely. Villas have stairs to the room, but have a sauna and jacuzzi. You ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

My fiancé and I just stayed a night at The Chanler. Everything was amazing.. the room, all the amenities, the restaurant, the staff - the view! It is an extraordinary place to vacation! We stayed in one on the Garden Villas which included a private entrance, a beautiful courtyard with a fountain, a completely private jacuzzi and stairs leading up to a large deck with a beautiful view of the beach. Simply breathtaking! Our room was just as lovely... heated bathroom floor, jacuzzi tub, flat screen TV in the bathroom, gas fireplace, and an amazingly comfortable bed. When we went to Spiced Pear for dinner - which was a scrumptious experience in itself, turn down service took care of us ever so nicely. They even changed the bedding and left little delectable treats for us. We cannot wait to go back. Everyone should get to experience such elegance at least once in their lives!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden Villa which was very private and elegant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLiz824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I spent the night here on a quick weekend getaway. Everything was wonderful, from reservations, to the excellent meals, to the room. We stayed in the Tudor room which, although it didn't have an ocean view, was spacious and felt very decadent. Our dinner was exquisite with superb service. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a romantic night!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at the Chanler for our 5 year anniversary. The staff greeted us with warm smiles and were very accommodating. Check in was easy and our room was ready early. They escorted us to our room and showed us around. We stayed in the Mediterranean room. Great views and beautiful decor. We had dinner at the Spiced Pear. The food was incredible. Service was prompt. I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The hotel is extraordinary! The staff is welcoming and they make sure you are comfortable at all times. They go out of their way to make sure you are happy. The location of the hotel is perfect because it is right at the start of the Cliff Walk. We stayed in the Empire room which overlooked the ocean and the gardens. The room was well appointed and very clean. Althought the hotel is historic, it has all the modern ammenities. We have a jacuzzi in the room as well as a 2 person shower (you could actually fit about 6 people in there!) with multiple shower heads. The bathroom floor also had radiant heat, we we didn't expect. The gas fireplace at the foot of our bed was spectacular. The room was large but everything felt so cozy.

The hotel is a bit of a drive from Thames, but they offer complimentary car service to and from. This made everything easy! They also offered a complimentary breakfast which was delicious. The live Jazz music at the bar on Friday was a nice touch.

We had a very relaxing weekend at the Chanler and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.1 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.8 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#6 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Property: The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Address: 117 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing