We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Except for the Noise Situation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent, Except for the Noise Situation.”
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Yes, the location is great, as is the unit. Only complaint was the noise, which regrettably was a pretty big deal.

Everything was going great until someone checked-in next door. There’s absolutely no sound proofing in the walls. First time my neighbor's phone rang, I mistakenly got up to answer it. I could hear her every word. She was having a nice time. Later, I literally heard her flipping through the newspaper. We quickly struck up an unspoken truce and barely used any volume on our TV’s. When I used my phone, people asked why I was whispering. I can’t imagine how things would have been with a family next door.

Because our neighbor was cooperative, my gf and I had a really nice stay. But the noise situation is potentially big trouble.

Tips: If you like to use the kitchen, bring paper plates and paper bowls because there is no drain rack and little counter space to lay-out wet dishes on towels. You might want to bring a decent-sized non-stick skillet, too. They provide a smaller, stainless steel one. Coffee drinker? Bring coffee, filters, and, if you dislike small cups, bring cups. Travel with a laptop? If WiFi service is down, as it was during our entire stay, call your home service provider to get the local dial-up number for Newport, and then use the phone line in the room for Internet access. Slow, but at least it's free, and it's easier than continually heading out to the library (free access on their computers) or Panera Bread (free WiFi for your laptop, and btw a GREAT place).

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Monkeybiz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    51
    39
    12
    7
See reviews for
33
66
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2006

We stayed one night at The Fairfield Inn on the Harbor as part of a short weekend getaway and had a great time!
The hotel is centrally located to anything you want to get to since it is right in the middle of town. The staff is friendly and helpful-they recommended some great restaurants as well as the major mansions that are a must see. The room was clean, comfortable, and much larger than we had anticipated. The kitchen area was complete enough to spend a whole week if you wanted to stay and cook yourself some meals.
We had a direct water view and it was beautiful watching the sunset over the harbor.
Only negatives-the walls are thin (not unusual for lots of hotels) and on Saturday night the bar below the hotel is very lively-until about 2am. Great if you like to party-not great if you don't.
We got engaged in the little gazebo on the dock right outside of the hotel that we could see from our room. We are looking forward to going back and reliving the memories sometime soon! We will definetly stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The views from the room!
  • Disliked — The noise-the bar downstairs plays music into the wee hours of the morning
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room with a water view and watch the sunset!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotelRater27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2006

Great location, pleasant staff, free parking, large rooms with more than average amenities -- ask for a water view: it's worth it. One note: the sign is tough to spot from the road. Write down the exact address and look upward for the sign.

  • Liked — Spacious Room with Great View
  • Disliked — Tough to find
  • Tips/Secrets — Book directly; it's a better deal
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PetJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2006

I stayed here for one night (unfortunately) on my drive up from NY to Boston. I was very suprised at how centrally located the hotel is on Thames St. and right up to the water. There is ample parking in their parking lot inside the ground level and on a side level on the second floor. (there is also an independant parking lot next to the hotel for about $10 a day).
The staff at the hotel were very customer oriented. I especially liked USA Today being delivered to the room. The room itself was very spacious, big Queen sized bed (large TV), kitchen with the essential neccesities, large microwave and fridge. The bathroom was also a good size - reasonable good water pressure and no problems with warm water.
The sitting area was great, Large TV, DVD player and even a stereo. Complimentary magazines were also arranged on the table.
I lived on the second floor and had no noise what-so-ever. Very quite (I think som peope with the harbor view may experience some noise during the summer months).
I didn't have the water view but then again, I didn't ask for it either.
There are several brochures, local newspapers, and info pamphlets about what to do and see in Newport (which is a beautiful place)
I was asked several times during my path past the reception whether everything was to my liking and whether I needed anything. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — No balcony
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for the harbor view
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Scrambler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

A friend and I stayed two nights during the week at this hotel situated in the very center of Newport. We had a clean room on the 6th floor consisting of one bedroom, a small but complete kitchen (with utensils, pots, etc.), a bathroom (shower only) and a living-room with pull-out couch. We also had a great view of the harbor. The room was close to the elevator and we could hear its chime when it opened its door. Aside from that, we were not disturbed. Parking and daily newspapers were free. The staff was friendly and helpful. To find the hotel is not difficult but watch out for the driveway as it is wedged in between two buildings. Look for the Ben&Jerry's ice cream parlor and it is right after.

Newport is a nice play to stay for 3-5 days. The Information Center will provide you with a free map and all you need to know to enjoy your stay. You can make all your tour reservations and buy tickets to all events right there. The town's historical center (colonial period) and the mansions (with the beautiful gardens) are worth the visit. Each mansion offers free parking and has, of course, a little gift shop with some beautiful items. The bus service throughout the town is good ($1.50/ride). For a change, do the scenic drive to Brenton Point where you will find a good wind and plenty of space to fly a kite. It is also a good place for fishing if the number of men casting there is an indication. For those who like to walk, try the Cliff Walk (free) or one of the beaches ($10 parking fee during the day; free after 5 p.m.).

Boutiques and restaurants are plentiful. For an excellent gelato, go to Cold Fusion just down the street from the hotel and pick 2 flavors for $3.50. The restaurant Sales (a few doors beside the hotel) is o.k. but usually crowded and therefore noisy. Pickpockets Deli (near Brick Market Place) has good soups (to eat there or take-out).

  • Liked — its location
  • Disliked — no bathtub and no pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Reserve early for best prices and check if there are a~~ concerts to be held nearby during your stay; the place could be too noisy.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Lyncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

Our first weeks stay was in a one bedroom with no water view. Entrance is through small windowless bedroom with Ikea-esque furniture. Wide enough kitchenette area with tile floor and modest appliances opposite tubless bathroom. Living room with more Ikea type furniture and sliding doors to nowhere (no deck) overlooking rooftops. This one was claustrophobic after two hours.
Second week was in a water view one bedroom, which has a very pleasant view of Newport Harbor and amenities identical to prior unit. I could hear adjoining neighbor clearing throat as if lying in bed beside me. The RCI getaway price of seven hundred for the week would make the waterview room a good buy if not for the first floor bar blaring nerve jarring sounds until 1:00 a.m. most nights. I don't exagerate; the third floor furniture shakes. Perhaps the fifth and sixth floor two bedroom units are ok. I didn't find out. Otherwise you're renting a room above a bar.
Bay voyage is a better choice, Fairfield Jamestown better yet. I have not been to other Newport shares.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — noise
  • Tips/Secrets — good for deaf people
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank bogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2006

We stayed at this resort for a long weekend for a family wedding. The location was PERFECT-right in the middle of everything, with easy walks to the wharfs and right in the main shopping and restaurant district. Parking was free but very tight under the building, but you could also park next to the lobby if you were willing to either 1) be blocked in by other vehicles or 2) leave your keys for the staff to move your vehicle in the event you block someone else in. We opted for option #1 and left our vehicle near the lobby blocked into a spot and used public transportation and walked throughout our entire weekend. Everything was just so close by...

The room was great and perfect for our three adults and one baby. You entered directly into the bedroom and then walked forward into the hallway with the kitchen and bathroom in it and then directly into the living room, which had a pullout couch. Fairfield provided a baggie full of product samples and coupons, which was a very nice touch.

The one and only problem that we had with this resort was the incessant loud music that came from the bar/club next door. This club had an outside stage with live music daily and loud amplifiers and the music was so loud that you could hear it through the closed window and through the closed bedroom door all the way into the bedroom (which had no windows). The loud music went on until approximately midnight each night. We inquired at the front desk about the music and was told that the club is actually closing and these are its "closing down festivities" and it has actually been louder these past couple weeks as a result of that.

It would have been nice for the resort to have a pool and/or fitness center, and that would have been the only other thing besides noise reduction that could have made this property better. Other than that, we were extremely happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lovethebeach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Property: Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Address: 359 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6643 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#5 Green Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing