We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, average property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hillsborough, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, average property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed for a few nights over a weekend and enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location was terrific. The property is located right on lower Thames Street, so it is an easy walk to all of the shops and restaurants. We also walked to the Easton beach and cliff walk, which were about a mile away. Our unit itself was okay: railroad style layout, slightly dated and not the most comfortable beds. However, everything was well kept, clean, and had plenty of kitchen supplies (tableware, coffee maker, microwave, stove, refrigerator, etc.) I would stay here again, but would prefer finding something a bit more up to date / upgraded.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    42
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
27
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Very dated to say the least! Great location, close to everything. The Deluxe room was to small and the a\c was not that great. Expected better from Wyndham

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slstover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Be aware that this is a timeshare with a Saturday Check-in for Owners. AND If you plan to stay Friday and Saturday you are very likely to have to move rooms during the busy season.
I was informed of this after I received two check-in forms and called the desk to confirm why. At that time I was told it was “Highly Likely” we would have to check out at 11am and wait to get another room for our second day. No guarantees could be made for staying in the same room as Owners get their unit. They could not assist me with other options. While they were very courteous they were not very helpful in solving the problem as I had to wait until the Extra Holidays office was open.
Since I had time to research further I discover another BRAND that actually had someone I could speak with and confirm what I was getting. I cancelled the reservation and then called Extra Holidays to express that it might be nice to know what the Check-in dates are when booking. Again very coutesous but I really did not feel that they cared I took my business elsewhere.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank njTravelJunkie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We are just finishing a great week at Newport RI. This timeshare unit, while clean, was only adequate. It did not compare to what we traded. The rooms were railroad type with the entry door opening into the bedroom. There were no built in closets and no safe. A huge plus though...floor to ceiling windows overlooking the bay and sunsets!!! There were no balconies or decks but there was a wonderful roof deck. Another huge plus was location. It is on lower Thames Street and within walking distance of almost everything. We walked to the cliff walk and to all the mansions and sometimes used the trolley to comeback. Oh, by the way, we are seniors!!!

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing west!!!! beautiful sunsets and a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Checked in Sunday (4/1), friendly smile, quick, no hassles. Parking was available. Rooms looked like they have been updated but would have preferred bamboo flooring and a glass door on the large shower. The view of the harbor is outstanding. No jacuzzi.

Will come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORWOOD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in the Wyndham Inn on the harbor for 4 nights in Febuary. The location was perfect and the view of the harbor was an extra bonus. It was walking distance to most of the restaurants and shops in the area. The frontdesk personel were always willing to answer any questions and always greeted you with a smile. We had a great time in Newport and the Wyndham Inn was perfect for us.

Room Tip: See if you can get the harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank XCman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Perfect downtown location, wonderful harbor view, and nice size rooms at this Wyndham. We stayed here in early November and had a great time walking to see the sights of Newport during the day, and exploring the many bars and restaurants at night. I'd definitely go back and stay here for a summer weekend too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rabajill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Property: Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Address: 359 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6643 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#6 Green Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing