We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing piece of history”

International Tennis Hall of Fame
Ranked #17 of 117 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1880 by the architectural firm, McKim, Mead & White, the Museum galleries chronicle the rich history of tennis through interactive exhibits, dynamic videos and popular memorabilia from historic champions and the superstars of today. Dramatically set in the original club rooms of the Casino, visitors of all ages delight in Stanford White's architectural detail as well as the state-of-the-art gallery experience. In the Woolard Family Enshrinement Gallery plaques commemorate the great players, coaches, administrators and writers that have been inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame. There are 235 Hall of Famers, representing 20 countries. In 1986, the International Tennis Federation (ITF), the governing body of tennis, officially recognized the International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum as the sport's official Hall of Fame. The property today is now 6 acres and consists of the Newport Casino, 13 grass courts, 1 clay court, an indoor tennis facility, the Court Tennis facility, a grandstand and a historic 297-seat theatre. In July, the venue annually hosts the Hall of Fame Tennis Championships for the Van Alen Cup, the only ATP professional grass court tournament in the Americas. These are the only professional grass courts that are open to the public for play.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An amazing piece of history”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I was most pleasantly surprised to find this historical and interesting venue. Such a unique character.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kreez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    147
    41
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A must for a tennis fan”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The museum and the surroundings are impeccably kept .. The place reeeks of tennis history ...
very interesting memorabilia on display ..

if in Rhode island , its a must see..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RollingstoneDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't miss this - guaranteed you'll learn something!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We skipped the Hall of Fame, but purchased a grounds pass for $3. This allowed us to watch people playing tennis on grass - not something you can see every day. We chatted with the tennis pro and the groundskeepers. Both were interesting and informative. But the best part was visiting the "court tennis" court, and talking to Sergio, the pro. My friend who was traveling with me does not play tennis, nor does she have much interest in the game. Talking to Sergio; however, was as fascinating for her as it was for me, an avid tennis player.

That's it! You're going to have to go and see for yourself why this is so interesting. Guaranteed you'll learn something new.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank VMSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Review of Tennis History for Tennis Lovers”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our visit here. It made us feel quite nostalgic about the glory days of tennis, during which time we played, when there were so many colorful and interesting professional players. I would definitely recommend this tour to lovers of tennis; not so much for non-players. We also enjoyed eating lunch around the main horseshoe shaped grass court. I had never been up close to a grass court, so it was fun to see and feel one up close.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We found the Tennis Hall of Fame very interesting. The courts are beautiful and the museum was very informative. I would definitely recommend this museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Tennis Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to International Tennis Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing