We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant par excellancia......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarah Kendall House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sarah Kendall House
Ranked #8 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant par excellancia......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

If you are looking for the "elegance of days gone by-18th Century" coupled with a visit to the Mansions of the "gilded age" from the early billionaires of American History, do plan a visit to Newport, Rhode Island's Sarah Kendall House. What Bryan and Fran, owners have done with this historic Bed and Breakfast from the late 18th Century to early 1900's is truly remarkable! From the architecture of the house to the authentic museum quality antiques, each room with fireplaces, large baths, beautiful ocean views to the fresh baked breads/muffins/cakes, full American Breakfast, includes fresh juices and variety of fresh fruits to cognac in the evening, one cannot find a more inviting ambiance to relax in. What a wonderful way to end our travels in celebration of our 5th Wedding Anniversary! Thanks Fran and Bryan for your warm hospitality and friendly table conversation and great history background. We will see you in June for our annual vacation getaway! Rev. & Mrs. D.M. Davey

Room Tip: They all are beautiful....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davey1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    29
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
179
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We arrived in Newport on 3/16 and were greeted by a young woman, maybe in her mid-20s. Pleasant, but not very enlightening with respect to the area restaurants and sites. She showed us around the home, but again, not especially informative. The property is very, very nice and picturesque. We were in the Sarah Kendall Room, which is nicely appointed. However, the bed was truly one of the most uncomfortable beds we have ever slept in. Two nights killed us. In addition, the bed was set way high...I am 6'2" and my legs still dangled a good foot from the floor. My wife needed a running start to get up into bed. Well, not a running start, but it several attempts to scale the bed!

The first breakfast was okay; while there was a selection of bagels and breads, they were surprisingly stale; I believe she said the owners also owned a bagel/bakery in town and we were excited for some fresh baked goods. I think the bagels were a couple of days old...awful. The second breakfast had what appeared to be a repeat of the bakery goods...stale, again. The breakfast, eggs benedict, was okay, but filling.

We missed the extra enthusiasm that usually comes from the innkeepers. What was a little disconcerting was this young woman had a friend over, and we heard repeated squeels of laughter, not unlike what you might hear at a middle school girl's sleepover. Is this really the face the Sarah Kendall House wants front and center? Probably not.

All in all, this stay was a great disappointment; had the innkeepers been there, the bed more comfortable, and the bakery goods fresh, perhaps our stay would have been better. Inasmuch as they were not, sadly, and with all sincerity, I find it very difficult to recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarahkendallhouse, Owner at Sarah Kendall House, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments although we cannot find a booking made on March 16,2014. The B+ B was closed for a winter break. Our bagels are delivered early morning and we have been in business for 20 years so would not risk our reputation on stale products. The muffins and breads are made early the same time every morning. The mattress in question is brand new and was purchased after the Summer season every year. There is a stool next to the bed that would have helped your wife getting in the bed. We do our best to give any information about Newport to any guests that have questions. I am the inn owner and was not away on the weekend mentioned as the 16th of March was a Sunday. The inn keeper quarters are two floors away from the Sarah Kendall room so it would be impossible to hear giggling from that far away. I am truly sorry for the experience they may have had but please read our other reviews and none of the criticism matches.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The young woman who received us was pleasant but not particularly friendly or outgoing. She is most likely a little shy.

The owners of the B&B were traveling which was a great disappointment for us. Is always nice when you're welcomed by the owner because they take such pride in their home. They can tell you stories about the house or area. It personalizes and adds another dimension to your stay.

The house itself was beautiful and a wonderful hot breakfast was cooked to order, along with a large selection of fresh fruits, breads, bagels, donuts, and juice. The front porch is very welcoming, with plenty of room for guests to relax. A cooler stocked wirh soda and beer was placed on the porch in the evening.

We were in the Isaac Kendall Room. It was clean with a large bathroom and robes in the closet. The one thing that surprised me was the bed linens. The pillow cases did not match the sheets. They were not a coordinating set either. I had also hoped for that really crisp clean sheet feel. Whatever the type of sheets they use, they were not particularly nice to sleep on.

This was a very special occasion for us and I felt that overall, despite the beauty, it was pretty sterile.

I would never begrudge an owner time away. Nor would I complain about a loyal employee who does her job. For me, I will not book a room in the future if the owner is not there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodTruthNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

This past weekend I stayed at the Sarah Kendall House. Brian and Fran, the owners, are delightful hosts and their home is a total delight. We stayed in the guest house on the third floor overlooking the water. The room was quaint, immaculate, and filled with great energy. We loved it! Breakfast was also wonderful... homemade pancakes, fresh bagels (made daily), fruits, pastries... yum! I don't think we could have found more perfect place to stay in Newport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deron2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

What a gem of a place.! We were on a spur of the moment get a way with friends and we were directed to the Sarah Kendall Inn by the Visitors Center.. What a warm and inviting home . All the rooms have a gas fire place and soft terrycloth robes.Breakfast was fantastic all served in a museum like setting.The inn keepers Fran and Bryan are full of great local history . We will be returning to Sarah Kendall next trip down to Newport.

Room Tip: All were special in their own way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massacusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you are looking for a B&B look no further. Excellent location, beautiful clean rooms and magnificent breakfast. Upon arrival before entry you will notice its location is ideal. The inn is within walking distance to the harbor and Thames Street and has great views of Goat Island. Upon entering you will be greeted by a very knowledgable innkeeper/ owner offering history on the inn as well as recommendations of places to eat and local attractions. The inn and room is magnificent and spotlessly clean. I've got a bit of OCD and couldn't have been happier with the cleanliness. The mattresses were super comfortable and the room decorated perfectly. We took the well worth it trek to the third floor siting area where you have spectacular 360 views. In the morning we were greeted by a beautifully set table full with a variety of foods fresh bagels, muffins, banana bread, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, cranberry juice, orange juice, water with lemon and they also served each guest a hot plate of delicious food which changed daily.. Honestly, stop looking Bryan and his wife Fran have thought of it all and have the perfect recipe for a great B&B . Thanks to them for a wonderful place to stay for my husband and I during our weekend getaway.. We will definitely be returning.
Mr. & Mrs. J

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Wanting something other than a hotel we were directed to the Sarah Kendall B&B by the Visitor Information Service in town. It is absolutely charming and we were staying only one day but ended up staying as long as we were able to which was three! Bryan and Fran Babcock were delightful and Bryan an unbelievable kind, helpful and perfect host. The breakfasts were to die for no need for lunch with all that was on offefr. Rooms were charming, comfortable and good hot showers. If there was a problem (which we didn't have) Bryan as there. He recommended eateries (Belle's, Jo's Bistro and Rumbline) all terrific ans was a wealth of information. We walked everywhere locally and drove only to see the mansions which are a must and along the delightful Ocean Scenic Drive. We met some lovely guests and hope to return. Don't look anywhere else

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.6 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarah Kendall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarah Kendall House

Property: Sarah Kendall House
Address: 47 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-8526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarah Kendall House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful bed and breakfast in historical neighborhood. Homes are colonial and Victorian some dating back to 1700. Very quiet area but a short walk to the center of town. On the harbor( see the Newport bridge beautifully lite at night) beautiful front porch with antique wicker furniture to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sarah Kendall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarah Kendall House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing