We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarah Kendall House
Ranked #7 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Sarah Kendall House is a Victorian gem located right on the harbor, an interesting and easy walk to ferries, restaurants and shopping. Rooms are beautifully decorated. Breakfasts are generous and very tasty. The innkeeper is a fount of local information and gossip. You can decide how much is fact and how much is blarney. The gardens are gorgeous, and the lighted candles at night are a special touch.

Room Tip: Less expensive rooms require a climb up several flights of stairs. Pack light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    29
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
180
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

On arrival, we were met by a young girl (not of many words), who seemed to be taken aback when I asked if I could see the room first before lugging our suitcases up to the third floor. On arrival (lots of stairs!), we surprised a myriad of ants rushing about on furniture surfaces.

Referring this issue to the innkeeper, he immediately agreed to transfer (and upgrade us) to a suite on the same floor (which seemed to be ant-free).

Our (new) room had a nice King-size bed with a good mattress and acceptable furnishings and furniture. The en-suite bathroom was a bit on the small side, but still manageable.

Due to the warm weather, we had to turn on the AC units in the windows (noisy, but the lesser of two evils), which dealt adequately with the room temperature.

The view from the tower (more stairs!) is amazing and well worth the effort.

The breakfast table was laden with fresh fruit, fresh bagels, and other goodies, and a warm dish (e.g. French Toast) was served as well. Only disappointment to register was the residual lipstick on each of the fruit juice glasses (really, nobody noticed this before??).

Whilst some reviewers have complained about the innkeeper's "whining" about operating costs, I personally found the innkeeper (did not see much involvement of his wife other than asking for a banana from our breakfast table) amiable, helpful, and of a practical problem-solving mindset that is a must for anyone running a period property as a B&B.

Sure, not everything was perfect, but some quirks you just have to expect if you stay in any B&B.

Having stayed at the Adele Turner House on our last trip to Newport, this was an interesting experience (because of the amazing views overt the water from the higher floors), and whilst we might chose yet another B&B for our next trip, I would rate the overall experience between "average" and "good".

Room Tip: Make sure you can climb steep stairs when booking rooms on the third floor - but the views are a rew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The location is great and within easy walking distance of downtown Newport. We stayed in the smallest room in the Sarah Kendall House which had it's own private bathroom external to the room. Typically that would not be ideal but the price was right so we were okay with the set up. Also, the breakfast display is beautiful with lots of fresh fruit, pastries, donuts and pancakes. However, it was very carb heavy and there was a lack in protein, which is how I like to start the day. Overall, the experience was simply average but I gave it four stars due to the location and price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedJumbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Sarah Kendall House is a great place to spend a quiet private weekend away. The location, the homemade breakfast, and the helpful owners and staff added to the experience. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: if avaialble, request a harbor view; but other rooms have street or garden views which are nice as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meaux323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Having the whole Inn to ourselves was wonderful...like living in our own private mansion! Beautiful view of the water, Goat Island and the pearl necklace of the bridge from our room. Delicious breakfast prepared by Bryan, who is informative and knowledgable about everything Newport! Loved our room with a warm, cozy fireplace! We'll be back again when the weather is warmer! Wonderful location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moreenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Beautiful rooms, very comfortable beds,d elicious breakfast served on lovely china in a beautiful dining room with a cozy fireplace in the living room. Bryan was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay at the Sarah Kendall house again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_R_LU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked through B&B.com using a gift card and never heard from the inn concerning our reservation. I even called and left a number asking for a return call to confirm reservation. We arrived to check in and were expected. We were guided to our room on the third floor of the tower, the Getaway suite, by a friendly young woman who was introduced as new to the INN. The room and bathroom were clean. Don't let the opulent bed covers fool you, sheets were ordinary and mattress is in desperate need of upgrading. Fridge in closet as well as beach bag and robes.

Great things about house: While sitting on porch in afternoon, water,beer and sodas offered in a cooler. Popcorn and peanuts as well.The view of the sun setting from the porch are spectacular. The house location to the park, and downtown is within walking distance. You can swim in the bay from the park near pier. Breakfast, while there wasn't a wow factor, it was solid with pancakes, bacon, fresh fruit and bagels/muffins. Bryan popped in and out of view during our visit. We wanted to eat at a local dive fish house where locals go and he urged us to go to Anthony's Seafood in Middletown. Was that Lobster roll the best ever? The gardens are fabulous - huge butterfly bushes with fluttering monarchs.

Improvements: Ceiling fan. The weather was such that we wanted to open the windows but up three floors it was muggy so we also ran the window fan to move air,

A welcome book with personal insights of Newport, menus of local restaurants and everything you'd need to know about the house, staying there, etc,,, would be nice to read upon arrival. Shouldn't have to track down owner to get wifi password. Resident kittie was a friendly little guy but we were not told a cat would be roaming the premises (put that in the book each room should have).

Tower room does not lead outdoors and windows were dirty so picture perfect views. The room is too hot in summer.

Can't beat the location near the water but having stayed at other B & Bs in Newport and other places, the special touches I've come to expect were lacking.

Room Tip: The tower rooms require climbing a lot of stairs. Beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kthomasva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.6 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#6 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarah Kendall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarah Kendall House

Property: Sarah Kendall House
Address: 47 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-8526
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarah Kendall House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful bed and breakfast in historical neighborhood. Homes are colonial and Victorian some dating back to 1700. Very quiet area but a short walk to the center of town. On the harbor( see the Newport bridge beautifully lite at night) beautiful front porch with antique wicker furniture to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarah Kendall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarah Kendall House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing