We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sarah Kendall House
Nearby Hotels
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Attwater(Newport)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Newport Marriott(Newport)(Great Value!)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
$265
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grace Vanderbilt(Newport)
$595
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$475
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wellington Resort(Newport)(Great Value!)
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
251
37
5
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
251
37
5
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelsfront porchkendall roomfresh fruitbagel shopb bkendal houselemon squaresmy husband and iwealth of knowledgebeautiful victorian homebannockbreakfast tablecranberry juicebeach baglovely chinabeautifully set table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 301 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2011

just what the doctor (or therapist) prdered. We needed a night away and went back to the Sarah Kendall House. Had a nice stay the last time and really enjoyed it, this was even better. Perhaps we were so deprived from alone time either way it was just what we needed, thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanandjennyban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

My husband and I decided to take a last minute quick trip to Newport and stumbled across he Sarah Kendall House while looking for a place to stay. Boy were we pleased. While walking over town, we saw other highly rated bed and breakfasts, and were SO HAPPY we decided to stay at the Sarah Kendall House. Everything was absolutely perfect. The location was so perfect! Within walking distance to the downtown area, but nestled in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by other historic homes. The impecably clean house is gorgeously decorated inside and out, with a huge wrap-around porch over-looking the harbor, and beautiful gardens surrounding the house. The breakfast spread every morning was so huge, one didn't know what to eat first! Bryan was a wealth of knowledge about the area, and made himself available to answer our questions all weekend long. My husband especailly enjoyed the brandy and cookies that were left out for all of the guests to enjoy, while I particularly enjoyed the fresh apples left out. Bottom line... when we return to Newport, we will FOR SURE be staying at Sarah Kendall House again. We LOVED it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzanecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Delicious breakfast . Wonderful

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fittysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Brian and Fran are long time industry professionals who take the comfort of their guests very seriously. I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts in various parts of the world and staying at the Sarah Kendall House was a most pleasurable experience. The property offers manicured gardens, a comfortable porch, thoughtful common areas, and a stellar location with great views. The hosts provide fantastic homemade breakfast and useful advice, in addition to certain amenities often overlooked in a poor economy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmangione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We booked in for one night via the tourist information centre in Newport, there was some sort of mix up with the price which we got slightly cheaper than it should have been, however the price we were quoted was honored but we were put in a small room with a separate bathroom next door which luckily worked out ok as we were the only guests on that floor, it has to be said the bed was not very comfortable but that is the only complaint. The house is really lovely and very clean and Bryan the owner was a very genial host.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobbydaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews