We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sailing”
Review of On Watch Sailing

On Watch Sailing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Newport Rhode Island, finest sailing on the East Coast! Let us show you Newport Harbor, with its classic and mega-yachts and picturesque surroundings before venturing onto Narragansett Bay, with its rocky shoreline, lighthouses, beautiful bridge and mansions. With a capacity of up to 6 persons, Lyra sails daily from Newport, Rhode Island, from mid-April through the end of November. We offer private two-hour, half-day and full-day sails as well as advanced sailing instruction.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a top notch day trip. Captain Green was warm, friendly, and full of knowledge about local lore and historic places in the area. This was am amazing day of laid back sailing. IF you want to help with the rigging you can, or just sit up front and enjoy the breeze. My husband stired the boat with a huge smile on his face. It was priced right for the area.

Thank lakegirlonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g8brett, Owner at On Watch Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for the great review! One of my favorite spots on Lyra is up on deck, where you can relax to the sound of the boat cutting through the water. On recent trips this spot has been the best place to be while a lively pod of white-sided Atlantic dolphins played next to us. Thank you for coming sailing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for On Watch Sailing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 55 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Capt Green loves his job and is a great teacher. He taught us some sailing maneuvers and have us a great tour of the harbor. No trip to Newport is complete without a sail. Treat yourself to a sail, go with Captain Green

Thank volphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g8brett, Owner at On Watch Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

You girls were a riot, that was a fun sail! P.S. My middle name is classified information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Captain Green is a absolute class act, and very professional. He chartered my Girlfriend and I (which is now my fiancé after proposing on his sail boat) on the sunset cruise. The views were beautiful and Green also captured our special moment on camera. Totally recommend if you are in the Newport RI area and are looking for a romantic evening, we certainly are coming back!

Thank BlakeAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g8brett, Owner at On Watch Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

It's very cool to be part of such happy and momentous moments. Congratulations, you make a great looking couple!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hands down our sail with Capt Green Brett was the best part of our Newport weekend. We had so much fun! Capt Green was so cool and we all really hit it off. He was also very knowledgable and answered all of the questions we had. He let us help as much or as little as we wanted too. We will definitely be back to Newport and back on the Lyra!!

1  Thank susannemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g8brett, Owner at On Watch Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

I'm so glad you had fun, you guys were a blast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Wonderful afternoon of sailing for our family of 4 that included a 9 yo and 11 yo. Mom and Dad relaxed at the front of the boat while Green showed our children how to manage the ropes and steer us around. Everyone got to do exactly what they wanted. When the weather didn't cooperate, he had rain jackets handy and prorated our excursion when we had to go back early. I am prone to motion sickness, but the water was very smooth and I felt great.

2  Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g8brett, Owner at On Watch Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed your time with us on the water. It would have been nice to have a bigger weather window, but at least we go to see most of the sights in the area and to get some good sailing in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On Watch Sailing also viewed

 

Been to On Watch Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing