We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but clean”
Review of Motel 6 Newport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Newport
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Newport
South Jersey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Cheap but clean”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This motel is near the center of town. Clean, recently painted, no breakfast,( nor within walking distance of a restaurant), or any amenities normally associated with a motel, such as, shampoo. No swimming pool, parking lot was small, no closet, or table, or book of local information,1 lamp illuminating the entire room, the towels where wimpy and scratchy, could not shut off the fan in the air conditioning unit. This is a basic, no frills motel. Staying 3 nights was a mistake. One night, ok but not 3. The total was $135.58.

Room Tip: Avoid if you can. But if not it is acceptably clean and cheap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brenirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    56
    23
    43
See reviews for
36
67
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel was convenient to the Marina where we needed to be and served our purpose. The rooms are spacious, clean, and updated. Although the front desk agent alerted us to call far in advance for a cab on a busy summer weekend, we did find it difficult to get a hold of the four options she provided to us by phone. We were able to use our Uber App and it was a matter of seconds before our car arrived, both to and from our event.

When we returned to our room in the evening, our key wasn't working which was likely our fault for placing too close to a cell phone. The agent at the desk asked us for our room number and fixed it for us, but never asked for my ID. I had my ID in hand too, ready to show him that I was the guest registered to the room. This was off putting, especially for two females alone, as it seemed anyone could stop by the desk and get a key for any room number they could think of. This is a simple fix with a little training of the staff.

Overall, we were happy to enjoy Newport at a very reasonable cost compared to hotels on the Marina and would consider it again. Definitely recommend using Uber if you need to get around, as the cabs are not reliable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltheworld666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have stayed here on 3 separate weekend getaways in July 2012, April 2013 and March 2014. I thought this motel was an especially great deal in the summer, as Newport is quite pricey. I stayed on the first floor the first two trips and on the third trip I stayed on the second floor, I found that the room upstairs was more updated and nicely renovated.

I found the hotel staff to be professional. We were not provided with toiletries in our room (shampoo or conditioner) on either trip, this wasn't a big deal because the Walmart was a quick walk away but I thought this was worth mentioning so future guests could pack accordingly.

The hotel distance is in very close proximity to a Walmart and Pizza Hut is within walking distance too.

The area that the hotel is in is a little sketchy, be careful and use common sense when it comes to leaving valuables in the car. A guest's car had been broken into on the April 2013 trip.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor, they seem more updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCaliKara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Great price for a Saturday night during a holiday weekend, about a third of the price of any other Newport Hotel. Was pleasantly surprised, Staff was great at both check in and check out. Room was newly renovated and very clean. Only complaint is that cleaning carts were left in the hallways at 11pm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gab40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent two nights Easter weekend. The place is newly renovated. The walls freshly painted, the TV new and the bathroom new. I really like the wood floor as opposed to carpet. The bed was nice and comfortable and the pillows nice and cushy. It's pet friendly and there is a Walmart and Super Stop & Shop right next door. Can't complain about that.

I give this place a 4, as compared to other budget hotels. It was clean and comfortable, and the staff nice and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccompola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Not the greatest hotel in which I have every stayed, but of course it is budget. The room was clean. The TV and a light did not work, but to be fair the manager got the TV working, which was nice. A bit of attention to the garden out the front would not be that hard, I think, and may make the place look a whole lot nicer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nemothelonely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I had a 6 week vacation driving through 12 US states in Oct and Nov this year. Our road-trip kicked off in Boston and Newport, RI was our first destination. We checked into the Motel 6 at Newport and it was our very first experience of an establishment in the said motel chain.

Being a Motel 6, we more or less knew what to expect - a basic, unpretentious, roof-over-the-head place to sleep. And I am glad to say this Motel 6 met those expectations completely and more.

After many accommodation establishments along the way including other Motel 6s, I can speak with some authority that not all Motel 6s are the same. We presume that they are, simply because they belong to the said chain.

However our experience is that they differ greatly. Admittedly they are all meant to be simple, back-to-basic accommodation and nothing more. But the experience changes dramatically when a guest is welcomed by smiles, or if the building is well cleaned or newer, or simply where it is located near a busy highway or otherwise.

Additionally the type of guests which typically stay at a particular Motel 6 can make your stay good or bad. As an example, the Motel 6 at Cranberry/Mars (Pittsburgh PA) was horrid with lots of truckies. I have absolutely nothing against our valued truckies, but all night long, trucks were either pulling in or out and hence we had a very poor nights sleep. This made driving the next day a chore.

The Motel 6 Newport, RI is a great place to stay and we will not hesitate to stay again. Yes it was next to a main road but we were not bothered by it at all. There is shopping and diners nearby.

I am giving this Motel 6 a 4-rating, not as any suggestion of motel star-classification, but as a reflection that it does what it is supposed to really well. A thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank skis-gitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.3 mi away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
2.1 mi away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
1.1 mi away
The Carriage House Inn, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Property: Motel 6 Newport
Address: 249 Connell Hwy, Newport, RI 02840-1057
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Hotel Newport
Motel Six Newport
Newport Motel Six
Newport Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing