We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful respite”
Review of Bellevue Manor

Bellevue Manor
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bellevue Manor
Ranked #74 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent two nights here. Originally we reserved a room in the Brinley but Robin upgraded us to the Manor (113). I had read some reviews that made me a little wary but was pleasantly treated and the room was great. The breakfast buffet was very good and everyone working in both buildings was very friendly. Monique gave us helpful guidance regarding dining choices and was ready to make reservations had we chosen to make them. Although there was a little street noise, the place is in the center of town on a busy main street after all, there was no noise from within the building to disturb us. Paul was on duty the morning we checked out, a very nice gentleman who's running a great accommodation. We would gladly return if we get the chance for another romantic visit to lovely Newport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimBob1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 42 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Enjoyed 3 nights over a holiday weekend in which the Bellevue and its 3 connected inns were full. Yet the service was excellent, breakfast convenient and plentiful and room very clean. The location on Bellevue Ave is central. The Bellevue Manor was recently renovated. The breakfast menu was the same all 3 mornings but offered variety and was fresh; it was delightful to enjoy breakfast outside on the Manor's front porch. The breakfast staff really tried hard to please, our only negative was that the quiche each day was mainly inedible and we were not the only guests to make that observation. Otherwise, kudos to Paul the manager and the cleaning staff for making this a wonderful value.

Room Tip: Room 119 is a lovely corner room that enjoys sunlight, has a King Bed and sitting area. The junior s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fancy02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I would first like to say that I was very hesitant to stay at this bed and breakfsat after reading some bad reviews on this site. Some people complained about the lack of service and about cleanliness. Some people also complained of having their rooms moved upon checkin at the property. Please understand that there are four bed and breakfasts under the name "Inns of Bellevue". They are all within several hundred feet of each other. We stayed in the Bellvevue Manor, which is their most upscale and most recently remodeled house. Since I was concerned that our room would be moved upon checkin, which I did not want to happen, I called Paul, who is the owner and manager of this group of properties. He promised that our room would not be moved, and explained that he did this sometimes to best accomodate other guests. Well, upon our arrival, we were notified that we were going to be moved since there was an ornery gentleman in the room next to where we were going to stay who complained about children from the night before. They would up upgrading our room to the third floor suite, with two bedrooms, a kitchen, a living room, and bath with a toilet and a sink, and another bath which contained a jucuzzi tub and a huge tiled, walk-in shower with a steamer inside. Wow! We were pleasantly and happily surprised.

The room was very spacious, and clean. I am a germaphobe, so I was set at ease upon seeing how clean the room was. The only issue I had was the the beds were a little hard for our liking, but then again, I am used to sleeping on a memory foam matress, so I guess anything would seem hard compared with that.

Breakfast that was included in the room rate was awesome. The website says that there is a continental breakfast, but they served a full hot breakfast, which was great! Each day, there was a buffet of blueberry pancakes, french toast, ham and asparagus quiche, warm sliced ham, bagels, croissants, muffins, fruit cups, yogurt, freshly ground coffee, tea, juices, milk, etc. It was very impressive! And it was very nice sitting by the large windows looking out on the town..Even our 4 year old son enjoyed the breakfast.
Paul and Robin were great, very helpful and accomodating. Even after we left, I discovered that I left my phone charger in the room, Paul said no problem, he is sending it back.

This bed and breakfast is very reasonable. $165 per night. If you stay 3 nights, you get the third night 1/2 off. If you stay 4 nights you get the 4th night free. So our three night four day stay totaled around $455 with tax, including the breakfast. We have been to many, many bed and breakfasts over the past 10 years, and the Bellevue Manor was among the best value while still getting a great, clean room, solid service, and a beautiful breakfast, for a great price.

Thanks Paul and Robin!

Room Tip: The upstairs suite on the thrid floor is great for a family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I just returned from a two night stay in Bellevue Manor. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and made good dining recommendations. The inn is minutes away from the mansions, beaches, dining and shopping areas. This is my favorite place to stay in Newport!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbrunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a two day romantic get away.we found this great little b and b in Newport ri .we took a shot and it was great everything you look for in a little European type room .i thought we were in Europe again. The room the bed even the flowers outside .it is just walking distance from everywhere you want to go in Newport .we can't wait to go back in august .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pzito52863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hubby and I took a few days for a romantic getaway and staying at the manor was the best part of our trip! It was spotless and very spacy! I was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the room was with a seating area and oversized bed! The owners and staff were extremely friendly! Cannot wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My boyfriend & I traveled to Newport together for the first time & I chose the hotel. The room at Bellevue Manor was not huge but enough space to stretch out with a separate sitting area. I LOVED the bathroom! It was nice & quiet at night. The woman at the reception desk was so nice & very helpful. We'll probably be going back in the fall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AreciboGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,167 reviews
0 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 96 in Newport
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#34 of 96 in Newport
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#28 of 96 in Newport
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Manor

Address: 30 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $132 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located at the top of Historic Bellevue Avenue, this recently renovated Inn is just a short walk to the center of town. Our beautifully appointed rooms and suites all have private bath, and include full breakfast and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Bellevue Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing