We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like it!”
Review of Muse at The Vanderbilt Grace - CLOSED

Muse at The Vanderbilt Grace
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Clarke Street & Thame Street
Description: Our outstanding simply sumptuous restaurant, Muse, has earned myriad awards and accolades since its opening in 2011. With a strong focus on what it takes to be a leading restaurant in Newport, Rhode Island, Muse has a loyal following amongst residents of New England in addition to the gourmet guests. Muse is open daily for dinner, with service commencing at 6pm and running later on weekends. This awarded hotel restaurant is an echo of the bygone era in which dinner was the centerpiece of the day and Newport social scene. The dining room itself reflects this style with period features contributing to a freshly modern and inviting aesthetic.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Like it!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Two coworkers and I had dinner at the Muse during restaurant week. The amouse bouche was very tasty and looked like a piece of art. My starter -- scallops -- were very good (I think that my colleagues found their soup a bit too salty). Our main course -- venison -- was delicious. We enjoyed for desert some mouth-watering chocolate creme brule (the pastry chef deserves a special compliment). Bill (restaurant manager) and Justin (waiter) were very friendly, efficient and professional!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    25
    13
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Look no further for a true "fine dining" experience here at Muse.
We started with a chef special white tomato soup w/toasted Thyme, Lamb pistachio crusted and Halibut atop fennel risotto, both entrees and our extra chanterelle mushrooms divine!
Finished with more surprise truffles chocolate w/salted caramel and crystallized basil, in a word "Amazing."

Thank you Kindly,
Hilary Block and Family

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HilaryBPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Wellington”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good food, what else is there to say, I didn't pay so I don't know cost as I was on a business trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank smokin_erb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth MA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL Special Occassion Experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our experience from the intial greeting to our Server, Rus was WONDERFUL.
We have trouble finding this kind of experience anymore in food and service even Boston or Providence. Who Knew this place was right in Newport where we find ourselves occassionally going. It was my wife's birthday and she was greeted with a happy birthday immediately. When she opened the menu, it had a personally written Happy Birthday on the menu. We chose a great bottle of wine, we were not rushed. We chose the 4 course price fix menu, which was 6-7 courses once the extremely talented chef sent out "chef's creations" to sample. The food was out of this world. Including poached lobster, lamp, lobster raviolo and the best sorbet ever with some really creative combinations.Jackets are recommended for men, but a great experience. We will visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nejorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Best meal in New England”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Dined here whilst staying in the Vanderbilt Grace. Food quality was on a par with Michelin starred restaurants, although my dessert was alittle disappointing. Would definitely return if back in Newport.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alastair_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing