We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed.”
Review of TSK - Thames Street Kitchen - CLOSED

TSK - Thames Street Kitchen
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

It was just ok. I was expecting fabulous from the reviews and left a bit disappointed. $50 pp including tip for an average meal and a small cheese plate. No drinks in this as it was byob. The only larger tables are bar height, so we sat on not too comfortable bar stools. No linens, nothing of fine dining experience. I expect a little bit more for that kind of money. I could have been at pour judgement for the $5 burger - same table and atmosphere. The meal was adequate. Not worth the $$ spent. The staff was fabulous. Nice, accommodating, and very attentive. Really liked our waitress. Live locally and will probably not go back. Too many other better options.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaddyLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    54
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

You need to make a reservation well in advance but it is worth planning your weekend around a meal at TSK. Located on the far end of Thames Street which may seem quiet, the restaurant has a lively, inviting vibe. Service was excellent but do remember it s BYOB. Limited menu but when one in our party requested something vegetarian, it resulted in a fabulous entree choice. The beet salad here could become world famous, if it isn't already. The mix of flavors was extraordinary. At every table, you would see an order so the appeal is very universal. We started our meal with a cheese platter which again, brought out lovely, surprising flavors. In addition to the vegetarian entree, our table went for swordfish which was well prepared over couscous.
Overall, probably one of the finest meals and waitstaff service in a long time. If you are a foodie, TSK is a must!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seacoast3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, MA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Innovative cuisine in a BYOB setting”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We will definitely be back to TSK next time we're back in Newport! We were very satisfied with our selection. The soup was exceptional. Salad (“greens”) was less unique, but ample & satisfying the monk fish was memorable, particularly when I followed the advice by our server: “The trick here is to get a little of everything at once”; he was right: delicious! Dessert was very nice but somewhat less than exceptional. BYOB was a nice feature: helps you get exactly what you want and keeps the bill more reasonable; there's a well stocked package store practically next door, too! If you bring beverages you’d like to keep chilled you have a 50/50 chance of being offered a bucket of ice; if not, just asked: we found all of the wait staff to be congenially accommodating. Be aware: ‘corkage’ fee is seems to be per person, not per party as we assumed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Duke_of_Url
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find in Newport”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had dinner here during Restaurant week on4/11/13 All three courses were spectacular..scallops were done to perfection...the homemade ice cream is to die for.
We will return again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonfly7Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEXINGTON
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Up and coming hot spot for fine dining”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Wonderful service, very nice food. The only fault I could find is the noise level is quite loud, because the restaurant was filled with happy young people, a wonderful thing. But there is nothing to absorb the sounds (wooden floors, no curtains or carpet) so it can be quite loud. Really fun place though!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nagonmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TSK - Thames Street Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing