We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top!”
Review of Fifth Element

Fifth Element
Reserve with OpenTable
Fifth Element is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 234 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
“Over the top!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Newport In Bloom held it's 30th Anniversary FriendRaiser at The Fifth Element this fall and had a wonderful experience, start to finish. Frank and Brad were right on top of planning out the logistics, assisting with entertainment, providing technology, a creative menu and gave us the ability to add a plethora of flowers to their already superbly planted and decorated space!
Many guests of the evening were first timers at The Fifth and commented on how welcoming the staff was and how great and how much food kept coming out during the entire event. The bar staff was also really great with ensuring that each guest had a beverage throughout the event...not an easy task with a packed fundraiser.
We look forward to working with The Fifth again for future events!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blooms2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    77
    31
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great People.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I will try to make this short, yet informative. Through a mix-up with another restaurant, I found myself with a party of 18 with no reservations on a Saturday night during Columbus Day Weekend. Everyone here was very helpful and accomodating. Everybody loved their food (the bolognese pizza was amazing) and the decor is very, very cool. I didn't throw them 5 stars (I wish I could make it 4 1/2) because of little things like not getting a call that they actually confirmed my reservations when they said they would, my meal of lamb was dry and hamburger-ry and no other servers helped our one (fantastic, but harried) waitress. Very small and ultimately insignificant criticisms. Thank you again Fifth Element, we will be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrumpetofDestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great time with our group”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Went with a group of about 14 on a Friday night when the boat show was in town. Had a lot of energy with a great indoor/outdoor feeling on a later summer evening. Great selection of food from gourmet pizza to trout to steak. Good service and everyone was happy with their meal selections.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bankscottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK, but not seeing the hype here.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had wanted to eat here for some time and finally had the opportunity a couple of weeks ago. Atmosphere is pretty cool. Bar was comfortable except the music was a bit too loud.
We had no reservation so told the hostess we would have a drink and wait to see if a table opened up. Dining room was half-empty and remained so for an hour, still the hostess said nothing was available so we chose to eat in the bar. Odd - the dining never did fill up, and we were a party of just two (?).
I will say that once ordered the food comes out FAST. Too fast. I know somewhere a restaurant owner is rolling his eyes about that...but there really needs to be an interval of at least few minutes between courses. It's expected.
Food was strangely bland. Esp. the "spinach balls" app. Margerita pizza was OK. Nothing bad, but nothing memorable either.
Beware - if you're going to eat in the bar it basically turns into a nightclub as the evening goes on - if you're out on a romantic date, this is NOT going to work out for you :)
All in all, I'm just not seeing what so many of these reviews are gushing about. Decent place that's too expensive (but hey this is Newport).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_Incognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Find off the Over Beaten paths in Newport”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I went here the other night after hearing all the great things about it. It was absolutely delicious!! It was a trendy modern set up, and the food had a unique, but not too unique, kind of twist to it. The staff was pleasant, informative and fit right in with the easy going fun setting the restaurant was going for.

All of the food was absolutely delicious, but for sure, make sure you try the toffee "bread pudding" when you go there. Melts in your mouth. Definitely making this a regular stop in Newport.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loveandgrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifth Element also viewed

 

Been to Fifth Element? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing