We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Diverse Home - Lots of History and Art”
Review of Rough Point

Rough Point
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.64*
and up
Newport Ocean Drive Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #6 of 115 things to do in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mansion belonging to the American Tobacco Co. heiress and founder of the Newport Restoration Foundation, Doris Duke.
New York, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Diverse Home - Lots of History and Art”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had toured the full collection of the Newport Preservation Society mansions and without doubt, this is the only home other than Hunter House that we connected the most with. The diversity of art and furniture from different periods in history was just mind blowing. We felt that the docent providing the tour did an excellent job explaining the history, art and rooms. The view of the grounds are absolutely breath taking. We wish though that the tour prices would have been slightly more reasonable than $25 per adult though. This is a definite must see house when touring Newport.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank eminker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRFStaff, Marketing Assistant at Rough Point, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for visiting Rough Point, owned and operated by the Newport Restoration Foundation, which Doris Duke founded in 1968! We're so glad you enjoyed the artwork and history of Miss Duke's home. Like us on Facebook at "Doris Duke's Rough Point" to stay up-to-date on all that's happening. We greatly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    75
    14
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island USA
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Doris Duke's Rough Point”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Truly one of the best tours in all of Newport Rhode Island. The house has many pieces of actual Louis XIV provenance owned furniture. There are more Masterworks of Art is this one Magnificent Mansion by the Sea than all of the other Newport Mansions put together. Gainsborough, Renoir, Original court painting of Mary Queen of Scot's. A spectacular side table once owned by the Russian Czarina Catherine the Great. There are ever changing Fashion exhibitions of the finest designer wear created for Doris Duke over the past half century. The Gardens should not be missed nor should a leisurely stroll of the grounds after your tour. Depending upon your budget, you can take a guided tour of a little over 70 minutes or you may take a non guided tour for less $$. We strongly suggest the guided tour because there are items, objects and art work that you might overlook because they are so well incorporated into the decor of the Manor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRFStaff, Marketing Assistant at Rough Point, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! All of the tours at Rough Point are lead by guides and last approximately 75 minutes. Those especially interested in learning more about the landscape can take the Landscape History and Garden Tour, offered twice monthly on Tuesdays during the summer for $10. Thanks again for visiting and follow us on Facebook at "Doris Duke's Rough Point" to stay up-to-date on all that we're doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Bedroom to Die For”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have toured the Newport Mansions several times in trips to Newport over the last 20 years. This was my first time at Rough Point. Even though it is $25 to go in (free for kids 12 and under), it was worth the price. The house is exactly the same as when Doris Duke lived there. It is fascinating to see a Vanderbilt mansion that was renovated to fit modern times. The solarium and Doris Duke's bedroom are highlights of the tour. The bedroom is breathtaking with all of its mother-of-pearl furniture. I have never seen anything like it. The gallery portion of the tour, housing a paltry fraction of her wardrobe is also incredible. I would love to see a Doris Duke museum of just her wardrobe - none of which ever found its way to the Salvation Army and is housed in warehouses.
My suggestion is that you arrive 15 minutes before they open. They will let you park and wait inside. Our tour group had 4 people in it. The next group had around 20. It was great to have an almost private tour of the mansion.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We enjoyed this house the most of all the Mansions in Newport. The house is almost the same as the day Doris Duke left for the last time & I think it is more personal and interesting than the other houses we visited. We had a terrific guide who entertained us with stories of the property and indeed the life of Doris Duke ...the treasures in the house are amazing and it feels like a home more than the other mansions with many personal touches from its owner.
The tour is not part of the other tours which operate the Newport Mansions & is slightly more expensive but well worth it.. There was also an exhibit of some of Doris Dukes gowns and photos of when she wore them..also interesting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 79suzannem79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRFStaff, Marketing Assistant at Rough Point, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Rough Point. The live guides help to enhance the personal feel of the home, which feels like a real residence rather than a grand estate. We hope you will visit again in the future. The exhibit in the Rough Point galleries changes annually, so there's always something new to explore!

If you are on Facebook, please like "Doris Duke's Rough Point" and the "Newport Restoration Foundation" to stay up-to-date on photos, events and news from Rough Point!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have visited many of the mansions in Newport and when a friend recommended "Rough Point" the home of Doris Duke in Newport I was curious. So glad I visited the mansion, of all the mansions in Newport I feel this was the best.

The home was absolutely beautiful, small in comparison with the other mansions, but very homey and beautifully decorated. The locations of the house on the water is wonderful, full view of the ocean. Check out the hidden gardens behind the tall hedges, wonderful!

I had taken my sister with me and explained to her a little of the history of Doris Duke (read the book) and her colorful life. My sister was very impressed.

The cost to visit is $25.00 per person, but it is a guided tour, no pictures allowed except for the exterior.

If I visit again I certain would make a second visit to "Rough Point" and would highly recommend a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRFStaff, Public Relations Manager at Rough Point, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We're so glad your friend recommended Rough Point to you! The gardens are a very special part of the experience, and maintained by our hardworking gardening and landscape teams. We hope you will have the chance to visit us again. If you are on Facebook, please like "Doris Duke's Rough Point" and the "Newport Restoration Foundation" to stay up-to-date on programs and happenings at Rough Point!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rough Point also viewed

 

Been to Rough Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing