We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll be back”

Rosemary and Thyme Cafe
Ranked #3 of 232 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: Chef / Owners Matt & Anna Tscheulin welcome you to visit Rosemary & Thyme , a small artisan style bakery and cafe located in historic downtown Newport, R.I. All our baked goods , pasteries, soups , salads, and atisan sandwiches are scratch made daily in our kitchen . All daily leftovers are donated to our local food pantry. We invite you to spend some time with us
Wilmington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“We'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have to come back to try more of these delicious sandwiches. Great place. Matt has a magic touch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulhs24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    92
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This Cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I read about this cafe when planning a trip to Newport. I can go on and on about how wonderful it is, but will make it short. The sandwiches were absolutely amazing (brie and pear unreal!) and the people were just as amazing. Friendliness that makes you feel like you are in Mayberry!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank loribird44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great food,reasonable prices,a gem of a cafe!Breakfast pastries baked fresh every morning.Sandwiches were fantastic at lunch.Ate there three times during stay.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cafe !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Small and hard to find parking.but completely worth the effort.My wife felt her sandwitch was the best of her life. Breakfast pastries were exceptional!perfect example of what is possible when a talented and dedicated owner chef and his family truely wish to serve great ,reasonably price food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“When in Newport you must track this place down.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Very small quaint cafe. Excellent and fresh food. Tough parking but worth the effort. Owners and staff were fantastic. Special sandwiches were great. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosemary and Thyme Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rosemary and Thyme Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing