We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”

Viking Tours of Newport
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.00*
and up
Grand Mansion of Newport Viking Trolley Tour
Ranked #9 of 52 Tours in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1962, Viking Tours has been showing visitors to Newport the amazing history of our city. We invite you to travel from the Modern Age to the Gilded Age during one of our specialty tours. Only Viking Tours gives you an insider’s look into Newport aboard our old-fashioned trolleys and modern motorcoaches. Voted by the readers of Newport Life Magazine as Best Tour – Land, Sea or Sky 2009, 2011, 2013, 2014 & 2015!
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We took the "overview" Newport tour because we didn't have much time and wanted to see as much of Newport as possible in the limited time available. This 1.5 hour tour was perfect for us. Our driver, Russell, gave very interesting commentary and history or the Newport area, and was very knowledgeable about the history and colorful characters that have built and lived in the amazing homes in the local area. Wish history in school had been presented this well!

Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lolirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    36
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent overview of Newport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We took this tour because we were not staying in Newport for long and wanted to have a quick overview. We were really glad we did. The tour guide, John, was very amusing and knew a lot about the area. The tour lasts for about 90 minutes and takes you round the major areas of interest, including Thames street, the Fort and the Mansions, giving snippets of history tailored to the audience. We would highly recommend this as an introduction before making your own way back to areas of interest.

Helpful?
Thank Pukeko54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennslyvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tour time flew by”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Took the tour only-- no mansions. Driver was "Russ from the Bus" as he told us to call him. Very informative and not boring at all. Told us very interesting tales. Took tour mainly to get on overview of Newport, but turned out to be one of the highlights of our vacation. Would highly recommend taking tour

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rnmamlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A good overview of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our driver kept it interesting, with a lot of history and the personalities involved, as well as some recommendations for restaurants and other attractions to visit in Newport.

We bought the tour that includes a visit to one of the mansions (we chose The Breakers, and recommend it) for $41, which seems fair.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect for a rainy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The tour took us past the mansions and homes of Newport while our driver filled us in on the local legends and history. Perfect for a rainy day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank happydinerDanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking Tours of Newport also viewed

 

Been to Viking Tours of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing