We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional and Informative”

Viking Tours of Newport
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Newport Viking Trolley Tour with Admission to The Breakers and Marble House
More Info
$27.00*
and up
Scenic Overview of Newport Viking Trolley Tour
More Info
$46.00*
and up
Grand Mansion of Newport Viking Trolley Tour
Ranked #10 of 56 Tours in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1962, Viking Tours has been showing visitors to Newport the amazing history of our city. We invite you to travel from the Modern Age to the Gilded Age during one of our specialty tours. Only Viking Tours gives you an insider’s look into Newport aboard our old-fashioned trolleys and modern motorcoaches. Voted by the readers of Newport Life Magazine as Best Tour – Land, Sea or Sky 2009, 2011, 2013, 2014 & 2015!
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Professional and Informative”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A trolley tour with Viking should be the first stop on your Newport visit. Our guide was knowledgeable, informative and entertaining - and the time flew by. We took the Scenic Overview Tour (Tour 1), as we had spent the previous day touring the mansions.

In retrospect, Tour 2 - the Grand Mansion Tour - would have been a smarter and more cost effective approach. This provides the scenic tour, and admission to either The Breakers, Marble House or Rosecliff. Tour 3 includes two mansion tours.

Whatever tour you chose, you won't regret it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    41
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very informative overview of Newport”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed the trolley bus as an opportunity to learn about the history and attractions of Newport. Our driver was very knowledgeable of the area and had great tips on restaurants and places to spend more time It was a fantastic way to get to know the area quickly and decide how to best spend our time on our short stay in Newport!

Helpful?
1 Thank Engival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Introduction”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This tour was the first thing we did upon arriving in Newport. 1 1/2 hrs. packed with history and recommendations. Tour guide was a long-time resident who gave great information, much of it from his own personal experience. Throughly enjoyed it and it gave us our bearings for driving around to see the mansions later in the day.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shehig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great way to get an overview of Newport sights”
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We only had a day plus to spend in Newport, so we took viking tour to get a feel for what we might want to see up close later. Tour drove us by most points of interest. Driver guide was good source of information on city and history. Would highly recommend if you have limited time to see Newport!

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An okay overview of Newport”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We took the Scenic Overview Tour early in our trip to Newport to get an overview of the historic points of interest in the area. It also provided something to do on a rainy morning. The driver/guide shared quite a bit of information. Unfortunately, the weather affected our visibility in some cases, and we had to "use our imagination", but that was certainly not the tour guide's fault.

If you are going to be in Newport a few days, this is a good way to start out and get your bearings.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Discrimin8ingTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking Tours of Newport also viewed

 

Been to Viking Tours of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing