We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilwin's

Kilwin's
Ranked #1 of 14 Dessert in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Must be a recently opened shop, as it looks totally closed in Streetview. also see http://www.yelp.com/biz/kilwins-newport
Plainville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
230 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fresh Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The waffle cones are fresh and tasty. The sugar cones are standard but crisp. The salt and caramel is very sweet. The chocolate with mint was superb. The fudge looked and smelled great. Portions are large. Prices are typical, but fair. We shall return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillP1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    67
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Very creative and appealing sounding flavors, which are equally matched by the flavor and quality of the ice cream. Tried the banana fudge and loved it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Creamy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent creamy ice cream! The service was good. I felt the size for the money wasn't great. My boyfriend had the coconut which was loaded with coconut pieces.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DottieRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice cream...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

There are many flavors to choose from and you can taste test them before making your final decision. The employees are all teenagers I was kinda grossed out by one worker who kept picking at the broken pieces of cones and eating them. But if you're in need of a sweet treat here's the place to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EscaperNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ok service - good ice cream”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Despite the fact that the two teenage girls working behind the counter seemed like they both wanted to be someplace else, we enjoyed this place. I had fresh squeezed lemonade. They had an old fashioned press so it was fun to watch them make my lemonade. My family got ice cream. They seemed to all enjoy their flavors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilwin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing