We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Kilwin's

Kilwin's
Ranked #1 of 14 Dessert in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Must be a recently opened shop, as it looks totally closed in Streetview. also see http://www.yelp.com/biz/kilwins-newport
Restaurant details
Description: Must be a recently opened shop, as it looks totally closed in Streetview. also see http://www.yelp.com/biz/kilwins-newport
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am not usually an ice cream hound (that would be my husband, who always stops for ice cream while on vacation), but I had the Blueberry Waffle and the Sea Salt Caramel in a waffle cone, and it was fantastic!! Huge portions too, which can be a good or bad thing. Favorite meal in Newport, hands down!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilee1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    68
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
161 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wow - Yummy Must Stop”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

There are plenty of ice cream spots in and around Newport but this was my favorite hands down. The Sea Salt Carmel was so good we had to make a few return trips. There always seems to be a line but well worth the wait. They will tempt you with chocolates, carmel apples and other tasty treats as you wait in line for the ice cream. Can't wait to go back - a must try in Newport.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VrmtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
354 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“The blueberry waffle is excellent but...”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

there was something wrong with the chocolate peanut butter. There was large portion of peanut butter just frozen in the ice cream which means it was not prepared properly. Given the high cost of their cones, you would expect better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The ice cream is delicious. They have a lot of flavors to choose from and they swap out some of the flavors each day so you have new ones to try. The staff is friendly and helpful and there's a huge selection of chocolates and fudge to choose from if you don't want ice cream.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in Newport!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A million times better than Newport Creamery. I had the Newport Mud flavor ice cream in a waffle cone and it was amazing! My boyfriend has had a few different flavors and he loved them too. We've also got fudge and chocolate covered caramel and they were very good as well. Highly recommended if you've got a sweat tooth in Newport!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilwin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing