We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good”
Review of Tallulah on Thames - CLOSED

Tallulah on Thames
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is a new restaurant. Farm to Table movement. Chef owned.
CT - USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Really Good”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Quirky storefront restaurant with a well deserved reputation.

The service was amazing. So attentive and perfect that it reminded me of Le Bec Fin in say 1995.

The way the menu/entrees were put together - the flavors of everything on your plate complemented each other.

Well done!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom2002a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    47
    15
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chef Jake is a culinary Artist”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

WOW!

Based on TA reviews, we celebrated our 30th Anniversary at Tallulah's and must say, they deserve every accolade.

There is no reason to comment on each item we enjoyed. The oohs and ahhs from adjacent tables confirm it - they are all wonderful.

The open kitchen revealed how intensely the chef and staff worked to create each fresh, delectable work of art. Again, wow!

Thank you trip advisors. We are so pleased with this choice for our special dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenParrottfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing chef and staff”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Saw this recommended on Tripadvisor and several locals gave high ratings. Went with the five course Chef's Tasting for my wife and me. Totally amazing treat both visually and on the palate. Fabulous use of many fresh ingredients to create a memorable meal. It definitely rates as one of the top ten meals I have eaten in 63 years. The couple next to us said it was the best meal they had ever eaten! They were from NYC and Oregon. I recommend Tallulah on the Thames for a culinary bargain!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Duckgumbeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunningly well-executed food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Tallulah on Thames does what a lot of other restaurants are trying to do these days, especially in coastal New England: "farm-to-table" dining that takes traditional local ingredients and presents them in new ways, but relies upon traditional techniques and precision. Oh, and they do it really freaking well. We had a foursome of foodies for dinner and everyone was quite pleased. People who are complaining about high prices should be worried about the overpriced lobster rolls and fish'n'chips because this food was worth every penny. The attention to detail on a fresh tomato and burrata salad was a nice example of this. Sure, how good can a tomato and cheese salad really be? Transcendent, I'd say. At this place anyway. The duck was similarly exquisitely plated and cooked perfectly and - for once - a nice sized portion of meat. The cheese plate was a work of art in itself, and real thought had been put into the selections and accompaniments as well. We had a wonderful bottle of Cotes du Rhone and a sparkling rose available by the glass was also a nice pick.
If you want something a bit different from the shiny wood, open air oyster joints down on the main drag, seek out ToT.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tmarczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and food was delicious”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a very nice romantic dinner at Tallulah on Thames. The waitress was more than accommodating and let us sample a ton of wines before deciding on what we wanted. The food is definitely a bit different but presentation is beautiful and we really enjoyed it. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BMHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing