We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great tour on the water

We wanted a guided tour on the water, so we chose the Rum Runner (actual boat used to smuggle... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2018
kaymariecd
via mobile
Rum Runner II, no Rum but Mimosa’s

This was a good time. A little over an hour it was perfect way to break up all the... read more

Reviewed October 1, 2018
55roryj
via mobile
Read all 128 reviews
  
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
103
22
0
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
22
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lighthouse tour boat ride cocktail cruise iced tea non alcoholic beverages complimentary water fast boat crew was extremely friendly perro salado sea spray the hour long tour newport harbor fun cruise mega yachts highly recommend this cruise beautiful evening interesting things
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 128 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our cruise lasted about 75 minutes and was a beautiful trip, viewing several lighthouses. The Newport scenery can't be beat and the weather was perfect! The crew provided first-hand knowledge about the lighthouses and some of the amazing homes settled along the way. The mimosas and croissants were a special added treat. Would love to do this again!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank knappsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Rum Runner II, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thanks for your review and so nice to hear you would do this trip again. Our Lighthouse cruise is brand new this year and has been a big hit. For only $25, you get mimosas, croissants and a great cruise on a vintage motor yacht from 1929. Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your cruise. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our office of 20 some employees went on the Lighthouse cruise at the end of September. The weather cooperated and was GORGEOUS. The cruise was simply delightful!

We got to see and hear about 5 of the lighthouses in the lower Narragansett Bay area and also learn a bit about the history of the Rum Runner II as well as some of the attractions on Jamestown and the Newport oceanfront properties.

I would highly recommend this cruise to families, groups of adults, parent visits to schools, and the list could go on! Our Captain and Narrator were also excellent and very informative. All in all just a great time!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Rum Runner II, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Rum Runner II's Lighthouse cruise is our newest cruise - started our first one this past May and have been running them every day since. Its been a big hit. Its a great way to see Newport and the surrounding area. Our Captain has been with us for almost 20 years and certainly knows quite a bit of interesting information. Its always nice to hear how much people enjoyed their cruise. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you and your co-workers back with us again. Perhaps try the East Passage Express OR come on down foor a sunset cruise after work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took this tour with our five children. It was a fabulous mix of information and fun. The time flew by and we all agreed that this was the highlight of our trip!

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank Davidschnitzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Rum Runner II, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

The highlight of your trip! Thank you for letting us know. Its not always easy to find something that everyone in the family wants to do but Rum Runner II isnt your average tour boat and people of all really ages love it. We love hearing that you had such a great time and hope to see you on board again next time you and your family are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is the only way to see Newport by sea. Very informative, pointing out sights of interest, lighthouses and alot of Newport history. Where can you enjoy 90 minutes for $25, here. Mark and staff do a wonderful cruise. We went exploring the next day with many of the sights pointed out and we've been to Newport a couple of times, guess we were missing out on a lot until now. All first timers should take this cruise. We enjoyed it so much we took the Madeline sunset sail the same evening.
Differently, after the cruise stop by Castle Hill Lighthouse and enjoy the views from the land side.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank NascarMom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Rum Runner II, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thanks for your review and Im so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your cruises. Mark has been running Rum Runner II for 18 years now and knows a lot of interesting information on the area. You picked two great trips to go on - Madeleine's sunset sail is probably the most popular sail that we do. We highly recommend Rum Runner II's tour for anyone who is new to Newport. They get a lot of interesting information and get to know the "lay of the land" along the waterfront. I hope we see you again on your next visit to Newport. Call ahead and we will be happy to reserve seats.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent a beautiful hour and a half slowly exploring the lighthouses, coves and magnificent waterfront properties that line Newport Harbor on a recent weekend. The tour starts out with a complimentary mimosa and little pastries that the kids enjoyed. As you slowly proceed out of the Marina, the captain and first mate begin pointing out interesting facts about properties and historic/famous vessels moored in the harbor. The boat itself is incredible and full of history. We luckily had perfect weather and calm water that helped us enjoy the trip even more. Not a tourist trap by any means...worth every dollar! Thanks for the experience Rum Runner II.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank EssexOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Rum Runner II, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you so much - we are glad that you enjoyed your experiance on Rum Runner II. We strive to make everyones experiance the best it can be. The Lighthouses and Mimosas cruise is brand new this year and has been a big hit. Next time you visit Newport, perhaps you will want to try one of our other cruises on Rum Runner II. We look foorward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews