We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mimosas and More” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rum Runner II

Rum Runner II
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a breathtaking motor boat tour of Newport Harbor and relive the speed and thrill of the chase of the smuggler boats from the days of Prohibition. Motor yacht Rum Runner II, which was originally built for two New Jersey mobsters to elude the Coast Guard offers the luxury of a classic yacht and intrigue you would imagine of a high-speed bandit motor boat with a history all her own while touring Newport Harbor.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mimosas and More”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great day for a lighthouse cruise! The Captain Mark and his FirstMate did a fine job giving us the factoids, not only on each lighthouse, but boats and homes in the area. Been in RI my entire life and learned tons on our mini trip around the bay. The Mimosas hit the spot and we had bottomless cups! Definately a great day and would recommend this to visitors and locals.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GwanBrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Rum Runner II, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for cruising on Rum Runner II. Sounds like you all had a great time on board. It is interesting to learn all the info about sights around the bay. Glad you enjoyed the Mimosas - a morning lighthouse cruise wouldnt be the same without a mimosa and croissants. Thanks for recommending us. Looking forward to having you back on board again next time you head to Newport for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    17
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our cruise lasted about 75 minutes and was a beautiful trip, viewing several lighthouses. The Newport scenery can't be beat and the weather was perfect! The crew provided first-hand knowledge about the lighthouses and some of the amazing homes settled along the way. The mimosas and croissants were a special added treat. Would love to do this again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank knappsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Rum Runner II, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for your review and so nice to hear you would do this trip again. Our Lighthouse cruise is brand new this year and has been a big hit. For only $25, you get mimosas, croissants and a great cruise on a vintage motor yacht from 1929. Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your cruise. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
“Wonderful day on the water!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our office of 20 some employees went on the Lighthouse cruise at the end of September. The weather cooperated and was GORGEOUS. The cruise was simply delightful!

We got to see and hear about 5 of the lighthouses in the lower Narragansett Bay area and also learn a bit about the history of the Rum Runner II as well as some of the attractions on Jamestown and the Newport oceanfront properties.

I would highly recommend this cruise to families, groups of adults, parent visits to schools, and the list could go on! Our Captain and Narrator were also excellent and very informative. All in all just a great time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Rum Runner II, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Rum Runner II's Lighthouse cruise is our newest cruise - started our first one this past May and have been running them every day since. Its been a big hit. Its a great way to see Newport and the surrounding area. Our Captain has been with us for almost 20 years and certainly knows quite a bit of interesting information. Its always nice to hear how much people enjoyed their cruise. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you and your co-workers back with us again. Perhaps try the East Passage Express OR come on down foor a sunset cruise after work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took this tour with our five children. It was a fabulous mix of information and fun. The time flew by and we all agreed that this was the highlight of our trip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davidschnitzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Rum Runner II, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
The highlight of your trip! Thank you for letting us know. Its not always easy to find something that everyone in the family wants to do but Rum Runner II isnt your average tour boat and people of all really ages love it. We love hearing that you had such a great time and hope to see you on board again next time you and your family are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is the only way to see Newport by sea. Very informative, pointing out sights of interest, lighthouses and alot of Newport history. Where can you enjoy 90 minutes for $25, here. Mark and staff do a wonderful cruise. We went exploring the next day with many of the sights pointed out and we've been to Newport a couple of times, guess we were missing out on a lot until now. All first timers should take this cruise. We enjoyed it so much we took the Madeline sunset sail the same evening.
Differently, after the cruise stop by Castle Hill Lighthouse and enjoy the views from the land side.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NascarMom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Rum Runner II, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for your review and Im so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your cruises. Mark has been running Rum Runner II for 18 years now and knows a lot of interesting information on the area. You picked two great trips to go on - Madeleine's sunset sail is probably the most popular sail that we do. We highly recommend Rum Runner II's tour for anyone who is new to Newport. They get a lot of interesting information and get to know the "lay of the land" along the waterfront. I hope we see you again on your next visit to Newport. Call ahead and we will be happy to reserve seats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rum Runner II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing