We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful afternoon or evening.”
Review of Schooner Madeleine

Schooner Madeleine
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.00*
and up
Full Day Newport Harbor Sail from New Hampshire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enjoy our Scenic Day Sails and Champagne Sunset Sails through Newport Harbor and Narragansett Bay aboard our classic sailing yacht Madeleine. We offer sailing harbor tours and sunset sailing cruises aboard a 72-foot schooner sailing yacht Madeleine, which was specifically designed and built to carry passengers easily and safely sailing through the local waters of Newport. The sailing yacht Madeleine maintains 19th century sailboat style with a 21st century sailing yacht comfort and convenience.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The staff could not be better. We have taken this sail each time we visit in Newport. A good value and a wonderful experience. Bring a blanket for sunset cruises in the Autumn. It can be really cold. This review is for a trip in October 2011, but I wasn't yet a member of TripAdvisor.

Date of experience: December 2012
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

We love all our frequent sailors - Thanks for coming back to sail with us again and again! We're looking forward to having you on back on board again this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 50 reviews
"captain wes"
in 17 reviews
"newport harbor"
in 23 reviews
"crew members"
in 12 reviews
"wonderful cruise"
in 5 reviews
"friendly crew"
in 9 reviews
"sailing experience"
in 11 reviews
"iced tea"
in 5 reviews
"day sail"
in 4 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful sunset"
in 7 reviews
"points of interest"
in 5 reviews
"answer questions"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 7 reviews
"rhode island"
in 7 reviews
"boat"
in 78 reviews
"passengers"
in 19 reviews
Filter

235 - 239 of 305 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Did the sunset sailing cruise inboard the Madeline through Newport Schooner tours on 15 Oct. The tour was supposed to be for about 1.5 hours, but actually went almost 2 hours...not a bad thing. The cruise was up into the Naragassant Bay, but not too far out...weather was wonderful and, yes, we did make it in just as the sun was setting. Beer, champaign and non-alcoholic drinks are provided with the tour costs, and the crew were very nice and accommodating. Overall, a very nice experience...highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

I am so glad you enjoyed your sunset sail on Madeleine - sometimes the sunset sail can run a little longer if no one is in a rush. In the fall, we can get some of the best sunsets of the sailing season. Its probably the most popular sail that we do.
We have a couple ifferent sails we offer on Madeleine and we have three different cruises on our 1929 classic, Rum Runner II. On your nex visit to Newport, I hope you have an oportunity to try one of our other cruises, although a lot of people do return just for Madeleine's sunset sail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Me and my wife were looking forward to doing a sunset cruise as we boarded are ship I took notice that it was by far the most beautiful in the wharf we were at and though I was worried we wouldn't actually get to see a sunset at first as it was quite cloudy our knowledgable captain Pete told us not to worry to give it a chance and sure enough as we were heading back to the wharf the sun peaked out for a beautiful sunset at the last moment and we were able to get amazing pictures including some with the us flag in it AMAZING plus the beverages were a nice add on do not miss this opportunity

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank shadowace888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your sail on Madeleine - the sunset sail is so popular. We like to run overtime sometimes if there is a spectacular sunset or if guests arent in a rush.
We have several boats with diffent cruise iteneraries so there is something for everyone. I hope we will get to see you here the next time you visiting Newport and perhaps you can try one of our other cruises such as our morning Lighthouses and Mimosas cruise complete with croissants - although the Sunset Sail on Madeleine is hard to beat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were lucky enough to take a sunset cruise on an evening with spectacular color and impact. I can't imagine a better viewing point than aboard the handsome Madeleine, being treated so well by Captain Pete D'A and the support crew and commentary. Well worth it!

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank envirojam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. Captain Peter is great and everyone enjoyes their time on board with him. Madeleine's sunset sail is probably the most popular cruise that we do - through the summer months its generally sold out in advance. We sail until November third and even though people need to dress warmly, there is great sailing on the bay at that time of year and the sunsets can be sppectacular. Thank you again for sailing with us and we hope to see you back on your next visit to Newport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

With so many vessels to choose from, it can be a bit overwhelming deciding which one to go on. Thankfully the staff at my hotel recommended the Madeleine and I'm glad they did. We left for a sunset cruise but the clouds kinda got in the way; no worries, the crew just went with the wind and had us all relaxed, filling us in on the history of various boats etc. The entire crew was wonderful, hearing their stories and knowing when they asked ours, they were really interested in hearing them. I liked how they joked with each other

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank TMJC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We understand what you mean when trying to figure out which boat you should take - with so many out there, we try our best to stand out among the fleet. We have been here over 20 years making Madeleine the oldest operating schooner giving guests a memorable sail along Newport's waterfront. We have several boats and have a wide range of boating experiances to choose from. I hope that next time your in town, you'll come back to ride with us again - maybe try our Lighthouses and Mimosas cruise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Madeleine also viewed

 

Been to Schooner Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing