We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful tour and Sail!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schooner Madeleine

Schooner Madeleine
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Full Day Newport Harbor Sail from New Hampshire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy our sailing tours and sunset harbor cruises through Newport Harbor and Narragansett Bay aboard our classic sailing yacht Madeleine. We offer sailing harbor tours and sunset sailing cruises aboard a 72-foot schooner sailing yacht Madeleine, which was specifically designed and built to carry passengers easily and safely sailing through the local waters of Newport. The sailing yacht Madeleine maintains 19th century sailboat style with a 21st century sailing yacht comfort and convenience.
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour and Sail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The crew of the Madeleine were friendly efficient and humorous! We've never sailed before and had the most picture perfect weather day!

They offer several expeditions daily and provide soft drinks. The crew had my husband help lift the sails which was a thrill for him!

Can't wait to return to Newport and maybe try the Rumrunner next!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlkk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are so happy you chose Madeleine for your first sailing experiance and loved hearing that you had a great time. Perhaps next time your husband can take the wheel and really get a feel for her sailing. Rum Runner II offers a completly different experiance. Built back in 1929, she was built for speed to outrun the Coast Guard while smuggling rum during the Prohibition Era. Hope we get to see you back on board soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    22
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trumansburg, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Sailing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We make it a point to take a sail on this lovely schooner every time we visit R. I. The crew and captain are invariably friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The ship is stunning and comfortable and very seaworthy. We always try to go on a day with brisk wind - sitting on the deck with feet braced against the gunwales while th Madeleine leans into the wind is fabulous!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Ellie!! So nice to see you sailing on Madeleine again. Its alway a pleasure.
And thanks for your review - we like a breezy day too. It makes it more adventurous. Cant wait to see you again next time your in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice way to see Narragansett Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Went on the trip Labor Day weekend. Was an overcast day, but the views were great! The crew kept it interesting. Would definitely do it again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LouannSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Louann, Thanks for your review. What a nice way to spend soome time over Labor day weekend. Its a busy boating time and happy to have had you on board. Even sailing on an overcast day can be incredibly interesting and the view is still spectacular with all the estates, islands and lighthouses. Hope the rest of your stay was great and looking forward to having you on board next time your in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Boat, Friendly Crew”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We sailed on the Madeleine in September 2013. We went on Monday which was less expensive and much less crowded than the weekend. The crew was very friendly and more than willing to answer questions and converse with the five of us on the boat. We went out of the Newport Harbor, up past the Old Fort, saw some nice waterfront properties and then circled back. I have been sailing out of San Diego which was a little more fun and came with champagne; but the Madeleine is a fine choice for a two hour sail out of Newport.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZLynn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hi and thanks for sailing on Madeleine. We're glad you chose us for your sailing experiance on the bay. Im sorry we didnt have champagne for you - champagne and beer is served on our sunset sail. We do take everyone's comments to heart and perhaps next time you come to Newport and go for a sail, you may find a couple of our trips will include champagne served on board. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and look forward to seeing you back on Madeleine next time your in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic sailing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We loved our time on the Madeleine on 9/20. The day was stunning. Not a cloud in the sky. The staff on the schooner was terrific. They gave loads of information without distracting from the lovely sailing experience. The 90 minutes can't be beat! I recommend this for anyone in the area with a great day on your hands.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank katie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CruiseNewport, General Manager at Schooner Madeleine, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Glad to hear that you loved your sail. With so many boats out there to choose from, you chose one of the best. Madeleine is the oldest operating schooner giving people a great sailing experiance - operating for over 20 years. Thank you again for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Madeleine also viewed

 

Been to Schooner Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing