We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Teriffic location, well-appointed guest cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Murray House Bed and Breakfast Poolside suite. Private bath, deck. Private outside entrance to room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Murray House Bed and Breakfast Poolside suite. Private bath, deck. Private outside entrance to room.
Poolside suite private deck to your room. Murray House Bed & Breakfast cobblestoned walkway to Pool deck and suites.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Murray House Bed and Breakfast Poolside suite. Private bath, deck. Private outside entrance to room.
Poolside suite private deck to your room.
Murray House Bed & Breakfast cobblestoned walkway to Pool deck and suites.
Murray house Bed & Breakfast swimming pool and sunning deck.
Sunning deck and gardens.
Swimming pool and patio area.
Another view of sunning decks.  Koi pond on the right.
The night frog says hello!
Poolside room private deck and private entrance door.
Looking at the pool coming in the gate.
Koi pond, located just next to the pool.
Magical fairy on the way to Water/Pond view suite
The beach at 6am.  Nice for a private walk.
The Beach.
Award winning Star Gazer lily.
Two tailed black & Yellow Swallow tail butterfly.
Award winning flowers in garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newport, Rhode Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
princeton...
Princeton, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Teriffic location, well-appointed guest cottage”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a weekend in mid-May at Murray House B&B. Met at the door by Maureen who showed us around the property and room. Comfortable room/bath that was well equipped if you wanted to prepare a meal or two. Location is a 5 minute walk to cliff walk and to the mansions on Bellevue Avenue. Parking right outside your door - an important asset in parking starved Newport. We rented the week before high season so the tariff was very reasonable.

Room is beside a small pool (which we didn't use as it is May in RI - pretty cool to swim). Summer guests would likely enjoy it. We did use an electric fireplace that threw off a fair amound of welcome heat to take off the chill. Maureen brought down a plate of nice cheeses and crackers which was a welcome surprise the first night.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2014
Thank you so much for such a favorable review. Please come back!
Cheers,
Noreen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john5794
hamilton, oh usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enchanting and Home away from Home”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Perchance you happen to go to Newport Rhode Island, you absolutely MUST check out the “Murray House” B&B. One of my ultimate favorite’s on our vacation. Meet the owner, Noreen. Noreen is laid back, genuine, informative, charming, graceful, creative and caring. Everywhere you look at the B&B, you see her creative enchanted touch, transforming the B&B into a small piece of heaven. We quickly learned in this area, parking a car anywhere is a nightmare! But not for us!! Staying at the Murray House, our car had its own place and therefore no worries…that was our spot. Another positive for the B&B is that Noreen is also dog friendly! A Must for us! Our two toy poodles travel everywhere with us and are truly considered to be our babies. My dogs were treated just as special as we were, which really touched me and made me feel at ease. Mornings at the Murray House were so serene and peaceful. We slept late and caught up on much needed rest. We had the “Pond Suite” which was THE best one of all!! The suite had a balcony that we could sit out on and the view was breath taking!! We actually thought we were viewing the ocean, but was informed that it was actually “the pond”. Our suite had a romance and charm…the bedroom, living room, and bathroom, all in rose was home away from home. There was an enormous house in the distance which was worth driving over to see. Strongly suggest that you check it out. Noreen recently added a Koi Pond to her garden. Noreen’s little touches of beauty truly inspired me. Jay was a wonderful friend of Noreen’s who helps her keep everything maintained. Jay was a joy with great travel tips! Thanks to Jay, instead of a long tree lined road, we experienced the beauty of garden’s and art and a beautiful scenic drive to “P Town”. Jay we will always remember your great humor and kindness. Do yourself a favor and don’t hassle with noise, car parking problems, and impersonal staff at just any hotel; after all, you are supposed to be on holiday, leaving all your problems behind…...Go to the “Murray House” B&B, a place that you will always remember and cherish!!! We definitely hope to go back soon! We felt so welcomed, cared for and spoiled. I almost forgot to mention one of the BEST FEATURES…..Noreen’s BREAKFAST!!!!! TO DIE FOR!!!!! You certainly won’t be hungry until supper!!!! Thank you so much Noreen for such a wonderful experience and for welcoming us into your enchanting bed and breakfast!! It was a privilege getting to stay here!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the serene quiet mornings
Liked least: although private, the bathroom was a little small
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2013
Dear Joan & John, Your review made my heart sing. Thank you for such lovely compliments and kind words.
As guests, you both were a treasure. You were Jay's favorites for the whole summer.
Take care and come back and see me again.
Cheers,
Noreen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clbtw
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect oasis just outside of town”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a 4 night stay, we booked the poolside room and garden room for a girls getaway. Perfect location, great to come back to from a day of sightseeing, lovely pool area, gardens, comfortable places to sit poolside and relax. Noreen is great, she checks in to make sure everything is going well and suggested many places for us to visit in the area. If you are looking for a place to stay that is just outide of the noise and traffic in town, this is the place to consider. Having a pool & hot tub made it even more special. Hard to find at other B&B's that's for sure. Great time, look forward to going back.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, gardens, room decor
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
Hello Sue and the lovely ladies that came with you. I want to thank you for your great review of Murray House. I would love to see you come back and so would Jay. :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snorkeldi...
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Retreat away from the traffic”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Noreen's Murray House in the Potting shed room over a long weekend. Noreen couldn't have been more helpful in regards to advice for a first-time Newport visitor. Her accommodations were very comfortable and clean. I debated about staying more in town and I'm glad I didn't --- traffic was horrible! The B&B is a short walk to the ocean and the beautiful ocean drive.
Even though the B&B takes pets the room did not smell like they had been there.Enjoyed my stay!

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2013
Thank you Cathy for a wonderful review. I am so glad you came and stayed and glad I was able to help in some way make your stay happy and comfortable.
Noreen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOrlando1...
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Quick Getaway”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Great location - Right near Thames and Elms Manson. Included parking. Innkeepers were wonderful. Rich explained everything and provided some excellent restaurant suggestions. Room was a good size and very clean and well kept. Breakfast was served to our bedroom door! We will be back.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean / Location / Price
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joeqsixpa...
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location near beaches”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I enjoyed staying here for a long weekend in Newport and we'd happily stay here again! We brought our bikes and had an easy time accessing everything that Newport has to offer, including beaches and mansions. It was convenient having a free place to park. The spiral staircase could be difficult for other travelers but we negotiated it with ease. The room was comfortable and fit our needs well. We just wish we hadn't forgotten our shampoo!

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location near beaches; check out time flexibility
Liked least: Owner was difficult to reach by phone during our stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Reviewed June 6, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Date of stay: December 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2013
That was sweet Shannon. Thanks so much for your review and look forward to seeing you soonest! Hi to Millie.
Noreen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing