We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sail on a schooner”

Sightsailing of Newport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sightsailing of Newport offers daily sailing cruises, tours and private sailing charters in Newport aboard the sailing vessels Aquidneck, Sightsailer and Starlight. Aquidneck and Sightsailer were built specifically to take people sailing who have never sailed before. Both are very smooth sailing; seasickness is never an issue. Both offer tickets for public sails and are available for private charters. Aquidneck is an 80' schooner. She is comfortable, stable and offers a relaxing sailing experience. She sails comfortably with up to 49 guests. Sightsailer is a 46, comfortable yet racy sloop, which gives a greater sensation of sailing than Aquidneck. She sails comfortably with up to 13 guests. Starlight is an O'Day 34' sloop that offers the feel of sailing on a private yacht since it sails by private charter only with just 2-6 guests. Starlight is luxurious and comfortable.Aquidneck sails 7 days a week from May-October.Sightsailer and Starlight sail 5 days a week (Thursday thru Sunday)in July and August and weekends only in June and September.
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sail on a schooner”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon this attraction while wandering the wharf in Newport. On a whim, we bought tickets and boarded. What great fun! Neither of us had sailed on a three mast sailboat (a schooner) before, but it was exhilarating! Our crew, three young men from Newport, sailed expertly past the mansions while we listened to the history of the mansions. Later that afternoon, we toured the mansions, but truthfully, we saw more from this sailboat. The combination of land/sea tours and narrations, perfectly completed our day in Newport! Look for this company when you are there. You'll enjoy the sail!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Georgiabigfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    35
    14
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunset Sail for 30th birthday”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Highly recommend chartering the Aquidneck. The views and sunset are amazing but even better is the crew!!! I did my 30th birthday in July with 20 friends and it was our most memorable event of the summer!! Bring an ipod put music and bring food and booze and you feel like you are in the Mediterranean instantly!! Will do it again!!

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank MitsosT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant sailing in Newport”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Aquidneck is a gorgeous, elegant sailing yacht--a great way to spend some time in lovely Narragansett Bay. The captain and crew are charming and professional. You will enjoy every bracing minute.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Great sail, wonderful people to work with”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a post-wedding private sailing...and it was a great time. The people of Sightsailing are great to work with and very helpful in making this a fun time. It also helps that they had the best pricing too! Can't go wrong with these folks!!!

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Connecticut, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thursday sunset sail”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I decided at the last minute to take the sunset sail on the Aquidneck around Newport harbor and bay. It was the highlight of our visit to Newport. The cruise was beautiful, the captain and mates were great fun, with knowledge of the area, other sailboats, and the history of Newport. The champaign and beer shared with all the passengers was an added bonus, and we got to meet a lot of new friends. Definitely worth every penny of the cost to sail.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Plymouth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sightsailing of Newport also viewed

 

Been to Sightsailing of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing