We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique little bar with a lot to be desired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sambar - CLOSED

The Sambar
Cuisines: International, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unique little bar with a lot to be desired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This bar is small, but its got a bit of character. There's an outside area as well, which is nice if you want to eat/drink outside. I tried a few of the appetizers, which were decent, but the portions were small. Drinks were good though. It's worth a stop in for a quick drink, but head somewhere else if you want a good meal or more lively crowd.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
“Satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I recently moved to the area and was looking for a great local hangout. Sambar was perfect! I was actually very shocked to see these reviews because the service and staff were nothing but helpful. Sambar was fun and the people were welcoming I would recommend this spot to anyone, young or old.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I live in Mass and heard about the bar bawl on St Patty's”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Just awful!!! Younger men and women too, literally attacked and beat-up a mature group of adults over nothing! And someone was seriously hurt! And the place did nothing to stop it or help! stay away from this place unless you are looking for an unprovoked fight

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“DON'T RISK YOUR LIFE BY GOING HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

St. Patrick's Day...having a beer, enjoying the game next thing being attacked by young guys and girls. Sent 2 to the hospital. No one that worked there would help. What has happened to this town? Don't go here unless you have a body guard or 5.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank localgal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dissappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

The menu was appealing. I only received half of what i ordered though... the bartender wasn't very bright. What I did get tasted good though.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing