We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Attwater(Newport)
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $558/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$360
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Newport Marriott(Newport)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$351
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
$750
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$835
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
60
12
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfog hornlight houseupstairs apartmentnesting seasonoff limitsnesting birdsnon profit organizationbarracks roomno electricityfull kitchenfire pitfirst floorspent a weekother guestswi firelaxing weekendnew england
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 74 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2017

I gave my husband a two night stay in the lighthouse for our 15th Wedding Anniversary. I seek out unique properties and thought it would be cool to stay in a lighthouse. I opted for the keeper's apartment - more expensive, but it had a full kitchen, separate bedroom a bath and a shower. The other rooms are a little more rustic. The beauty of staying here is that you are away from everything. If you are looking for Disneyland, this is not for you. If you're looking for a peaceful place to spend some quality time, read, play board games, do a kayak ride or two, marvel at the beauty of your surroundings, have a few glasses of wine, take some photos, etc., then you will love it here! Bring a cooler of seafood and enjoy!

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank WeirdNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

I and a group of friends rented out the light house in May 2017. Everything was exceptional. The charm and sense of calm in this place cant be beat.The grounds are beautiful and there are breathtaking views everywhere you look. If a night away of complete relaxation is what your looking for this is it!
May is nesting season for the birds on the island, so some of the grounds are off limits. Wear good shoes because during nesting season there is bird poo all over.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lisapercoskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

My wife booked this for a family vacation as a surprise! My and I with our two young adult children spent a week in the light keeper's apartment. We all loved this very special experience. I could write pages about what a great trip, but I will just say this-Just Do It. Go to their web page, read about it and be prepared to book well in advance. Everyone involved makes this a special vacation adventure!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Albabyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed. We booked the two rooms downstairs , "the museum rooms" and that is just what it was. But it was dusty and dirty.

Don't go here if you want peace and quiet and the upstairs apartment is occupied, (there were four adults upstairs) because the floors and walls are very thin and you hear everything. Added to that the caretaker, Captain, decided that it would be a good time to cut the lawn!
After three hours we actually had the Captain of the boat take us back to Newport. We did not stay overnight.

Don't go here if you plan to walk around the island between
6/1 -8/15 because there is no place to go, because of the nesting seagulls. If it is bad weather you are stuck inside. And the downstairs was not wonderful. Only good point was that there were no public tours going on, because of bad weather, which would have put us outside, or dancing around strangers going through the rooms we rented.
Would recommend this location only if you could book the apartment upstairs. Though we did not see it I can only imagine it was nicer then the rooms on the first floor.
And you need strong arms to pump the water into the tank in order to flush the toilet or get water out of the pump in the kitchen/bathroom.
The pictures on the internet are not accurate to what is a actually here. Beware.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GlobeBiker141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile

My College roommates and I choose the Rose Island lighthouse as this year's annual adventure. We booked the entire keepers cottage because it has three separate bedrooms, 2 baths,a full kitchen, and a living room area. In addition, it has ready access to the stairways up to the light tower.
The highlights of our stay included finding seaglass and lovely shells while walking the beach, observing nesting birds; watching sailboats, tankers, container ships, fishing boats and even a cruise ship pass us. The bay is 150 feet deep so it can handle most maritime vessels.
We sat out on the Adirondacks chairs in the morning sipping coffee and saw seagulls catching and eating fish. We sat out again in the evening watching the sunset while cooking steaks and sipping wine. The Keepers Cottage is surrounded by windows and we admired the Newport Bridge all lit up at night. We climbed the lighthouse tower several times to take pictures and to admire the 360° view of Narragansett Bay.
On the second day of our adventure, it poured the entire day. It was a soaking rain that left us with little to do but stay inside. We had brought plenty of firewood so we kept the wood-burning stove in the living area going all day long. The ambience of the warmth and smell from the fire, along with the rain pouring on the roof and windows provided a perfect, comfortable, relaxing atmosphere in which to catch up with each other. We cooked crab cakes for lunch and chicken Provence for dinner. The cottage is full of a myriad of games, playing cards, and drawing/coloring materials. There is even a Victrola with records in a vintage room in the cottage. But we spent the day reading books, resting, and reminiscing about our friendship of 50 years.
On the morning of our departure, we changed out the Lighthouse flag for a new one.
I gave this adventure 5 stars because of the wonderful experience of staying in this unique and lovely historic landmark. The views from the lighthouse grounds are glorious! The beds are some of the most comfortable any of us have ever slept in! Chris, our guide who is also Lighthouse caretaker, could not have been more accommodating or more helpful during our stay.
However the accommodations themselves do not reach a 5 star level. The cottage was renovated in 1984 and, although cozy and relatively clean, it is well worn. The kitchen stove and refrigerator are adequate and functioning but fairly old. Accommodations such as this rely on the neatness of the people coming before you. So, depending on your personal preference, you may decide to straighten a particular area.
The Rose lighthouse foundation depends on volunteers l and readily except any offers to help with the estate and grounds.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank peggytudryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews