We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, lovingly tended unique island”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Island Lighthouse
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Because we visited in mid-March, there was no ferry. We were picked up by Chris, the caretaker, tour-guide and light-house guru. The trip was magical from the moment my kids stepped into the boat and strapped on their life vests. We had a beautiful view of the harbor as we approached the island and the views just kept on improving! The Rose Island Lighthouse is on the top of a rock, so it looks quite dramatic as we approach the dock. Upon arrival, Chris helped us settle in and then gave us a comprehensive explanation of the history of the building and future plans. The apartment had everything we needed. We had brought our own food, water and firewood. The kids were fascinated by the antiques like typewriters, old books and tools. Previous guests had added to the decor with their island finds like shells and rocks. The views from every window are stunning. We loved to look out and track the height of the tide throughout the day. The climb up to the lighthouse itself is rewarded by 360 views of the bridge and nearby towns. We were very lucky to have a full moon that night. We bundled up in our coats and sat outside marveling at the river of moonlight reflected on the water and the constellations above. My husband enjoyed using the wood burning stove inside, it kept us warm until sunrise. In the morning, we had our last round of shell hunting, checked on the latest tidal activity, and said good by to the birds. It was my older child's birthday and memorable for all. We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A_C_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 72 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

My boyfriend rented the main floor of the lighthouse for us to stay to celebrate my birthday. It was the most fun I had in years- serendipitously we had the whole Island to ourselves! The director, Dave was kind enough to give us a tour and explain the history of the lighthouse and the Island. Then we set off to explore the island collecting sea shells and take in the views. We made a fire, cooked a ridiculously delicious meal in the ample kitchen and sipped wine watching the sunset. The bed was very comfortable and the whole house was clean and filled with mementos of previous inhabitants. Charming. (We left out signed shells too!) We woke up to a beautiful sunrise before packing up to head back to main land. It is a memory that will stay with me forever. It was truly wonderful being "part of Rose Island history".
Guillermo and Tracy
March, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tls324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

we stayed one night at the rose island and it was spectacular. i brought my wife on a surprise for her birthday. the inside of the lighthouse was charming. the views of the bay and newport terrific. the care taken is wonderful. i hope there is continued funding to clean up the rest of the island

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We love staying at lighthouses. They are peaceful and beautiful places and Rose Island is in an especially beautiful location. The room of the original lighthouse keeper is there and it's a wonderful way to step back into a simpler time. You arrive and get picked up by a ferry and if you want to do a longer stay you can sign up for a stint as a lighthouse keeper.

Room Tip: All are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ZoyaKNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have wanted to stay on Rose Island since first learning about it 10 years ago, and we finally got the chance to stay there last week.
We stayed in the upstairs apartment, and we were the only ones staying on the island for the night! The apartment was so homey, cozy, and comfortable.
We loved exploring the island, walking all around at both at low tide and at high tide. We saw harbor seals in the distance and found many beautiful shells. We also enjoyed looking around the museum downstairs.
Our favorite spot was the lantern room with the incredible views.
Chris brought us out to the island and shared so much interesting information with us about the lighthouse, the island, and Newport in general.
We can't wait to go back again!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Givati8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the lighthouse for a night during our stay in Newport. If you love beautiful scenery, peace and quiet, and rustic charm you will really enjoy it. We wrote in the keepers log, explored the island, took tons of pictures. It was lovely and romantic. In warm weather it would be a blast for families with children. We definitely hope to return for a second stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I spent the night in the apartment of the light house last weekend. It was good time! We lucked out with the weather during the day, and a nice fire in the wood stove kept us warm at night.. It was fun to explore the whole island. I found some good sea glass on each of our walks.
Chris and Dave, our ferry boat drivers, were great! We learned a lot about the lighthouse, and they were kind enough to take us closer to the rocks to see the seals.
Rustic? Yes. Fun? Yes. Do it again? Yes.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank AMI H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.6 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#9 of 21 in Newport
631 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Island Lighthouse

Address: Rose Island, Newport, RI
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Newport
Price Range: $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at a 19-century lighthouse on Rose Island - be willing to rough it and pitch in with the chores. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Island Lighthouse Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing