We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A SHINING EXAMPLE OF WHAT A B&B SHOULD BE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
Ranked #6 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A SHINING EXAMPLE OF WHAT A B&B SHOULD BE!”
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My wife and I have been visiting Newport for a decade, and thanks to our gracious hosts Sue and Bill at the Spring Seasons Inn, I can honestly say that we just completed our most enjoyable stay as of this writing.

Sue and Bill were gracious and hospitable the entire time, and they are an invaluable source for information on the Newport attractions (they offer discount tickets for some of them) and dining options (listen carefully to what they have to say about where to eat!)
Although the tea room itself was closed for Labor Day weekend, Sue did not hesitate to brew some of her specialty teas for my wife, which she both appreciated and thoroughly enjoyed each morning. We also enjoyed our casual evening "chats" over a glass of sherry (Sue places a bottle in the living room for the guests to enjoy).

The inn itself is warm, cozy, inviting, tastefully decorated, and meticulously maintained (the owners even apologized for a mismatched showerhead in our bathroom!). We stayed in the Victorian Room (Room #1) on the first floor. The room itself was larger and more even more beautiful than it appears on the inn's website. Even with a queen size bed and a large wardrobe armoir, there was plenty of room in the bedroom to move about. The bathroom was surprisingly large and featured a whirlpool tub/shower combination.

A hot breakfast, accompanied by warm muffins, scones, juice, and coffee, is served each morning in the dining room. This provided an opportunity to mingle with both Sue and Bill as well as the other guests, which we enjoyed.

The inn is also ideally situated, and is a short walk (about 5 minutes) to the wharf area's shopping and dining. Access to the Cliff Walk and the Bellevue mansions is only about a 20 minute walk as well.

And before we forget, we would like to thank Lisa her hospitality during our first night and morning at the inn... many thanks for your advice on the local pubs and eateries!

In summary... warm, gracious hosts; scrumptous breakfasts and teas, and an ideal location make this inn a sleeper gem. We will be returning for another stay next year!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KouklaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    39
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
254
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Our stay at the Spring Seasons Inn was just wonderful. We felt the location was very convenient and safe, especially if you want to explore the historic wharf area. As Newport is quite small, getting to the mansions from this location was just a few minutes by car. The main floor is cozy, traditional, and quite endearing with the teapots and tea accessories that are on display. Our room, the upstairs suite, was clean and large. Our hosts, Bill and Susan were very friendly and tried to help with plans whenever possible. Susan provided a fresh breakfast each morning and was very attentive to our need for extra coffee. Finding a carafe of sherry waiting for us each night was a nice touch. We would love to return to Newport in the future to see what we missed on this first visit and we definitely will stay at Spring Seasons Inn again and highly recommend it to other visitors.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wocaplel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Ms Farrel makes all of her effort transparent to you. Food is wonderful and served professionally yet you feel like you are the only one at the Inn. The personal touches are fabulous and amazing. The room was clean and very spacious. Inn is beautifully decorated and very romantic. We are planning to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan15453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We recently stayed at the Spring Seasons Inn in Room 3 My husband had to go up a day earlier than I did and he texted me and wrote "this is a nice inn" and he hates inns! The room was very very spacious. You would think that a room that was clearly once an attic would feel small, but it was so large and the bathroom was quite large as well. The bed was very comfortable and i think may have been the biggest king bed i have ever slept in!

best of all were Bill and Susan- what delightful people. I was sad to have missed susan's french toast, but i was able to enjoy her omelet and homemade muffin on sunday and breakfast was delicious. we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

What can I say that hasn't already been said by other travelers? Susan and Bill's hospitality, breakfast, suggestions on what to do/where to eat, and accommodations were nothing less than perfect. They were attentive without being intrusive, knowledgeable without being condescending, and thoroughly enjoyable to speak with.

My only complaint was that I would've liked to have spent more time both at the Spring Seasons and talking with them. A+

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtufford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at this charming bed & breakfast. The room (number 2) was tastefully decorated and very clean. The common areas were nicely appointed and filled with interesting items. Atmosphere was relaxing and pleasant. Owners were on-hand to give helpful tourist advice and served a wonderful breakfast each morning. Parking was provided across the street. We easily walked a couple blocks to Thames Street for all the shopping and nightlife. Mansions and beach were nearby as well. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fo2grfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Susan and Bill were welcoming hosts. Our room was spacious and immaculate with beautiful plant wall murals. Menus of local restaurants were available. We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to Newport.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birder1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
579 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room

Property: Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
Address: 86 Spring Street, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our classic Victorian Newport Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast lodging offers amenities that will make your stay memorable. Candlelight breakfast, Jacuzzi style baths and our location close to waterfront dining, shopping and attractions make our Newport Rhode Island Bed and Breakfast perfect for your Rhode Island escape. The lovely gardens and window boxes are “Newport in Bloom” award winners every year. Explore the treasures of Newport and beyond from our exquisite bed and breakfast Newport RI lodging hideaway. At The Spring Seasons Inn, your exclusive Rhode Island adventure awaits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing