We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the owner messed up our reservations twice then blamed it the customer.”
Review of Segway of Newport

Segway of Newport
Ranked #21 of 56 Tours in Newport
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Segway of Newport offers tours of Newport, RI on a Segway PT! Experience all Newport has to offer while gliding effortless on this electric transportation. No experience required, just a driver's license and the ability to have a great time! We are now renting electric bikes and pedal bikes. Stop in and see our new location on Lower Thames Street.
Providence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the owner messed up our reservations twice then blamed it the customer.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I did not have the opportunity to use this service because Andy, who identified himself as the owner messed up our reservation on two occassions and then told us "it your fault for not confirming". We did confirm but this guy was not hearing any of it as he did not want to deal with our group once he know we had a Groupon and he suddenly came up with new "rules" that were not on our original agreement with the Groupon. This man is a liar and I will never do business with this company. So we are out $38 per person and making a formal complaint to Groupon.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ProvidenceSnowpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    12
    3
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, RI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Segway”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently went on the Ocean Drive Segway tour and enjoyed it thoroughly. It would have been nice if we could have gone a little faster though!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dnsfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Absolutely loved doing this tour. The Segway instruction was good. The scenery amazing. I've been to Newport hundreds of times but this was a different way to see it. Our guide was wonderful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TripleAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Connecticut, USA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You just have to do this ! ! !”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

If your looking for a fun filled adventure to do in Newport, Segway of Newport is the place to call. The staff is a lot of fun and very informative in teaching you the skills to safely ride (truth is they are very easy to ride). Jen was our guide and she provided us with a wealth of history of Newport. Bring your camera because there will be memories that you will want to share on this incredible trip. We got some awesome pictures of the Newport Bay, up close pics of the mansions, and went to places that we would have never seen without the help of Jen and her assistant Ryan :-). A weekend in Newport is a yearly stop for us and we are already planning on or next Segway of Newport tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome segway tour!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a blast! Tour was a surprise for my husband and son while vacationing in Newport, RI. They were so surprised and we had an absolutely awesome time. I was hesitant to get on one since having both knees replaced, but it was incredibly easy to ride/stop/and turn that all my fears were put to rest within 15 minutes of getting on a segway. Tour guide was excellent, fun and informative. Well worth the money. Both husband and son want their own segway! I got some serious "mom points" for this! We'll be back (told several tourists about our wonderful tour and encouraged them to give it a try). We need a Segway of Newport tee shirt! AWESOME.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Segway of Newport also viewed

 

Been to Segway of Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing