We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Newport home”
Review of Artful Lodger Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artful Lodger Inn
Ranked #18 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Chambersburg, PA
19
Reviewed April 8, 2006

My wife & I have had the pleasure of attending the Newport International Boat Show for the past 15 years and have stayed at the Artful Lodger for each of those visits. This facility is truly considered our Newport "home" and we look forward to returning every fall.
We love the central location with off-street parking(everything in the downtown area is within reasonable walking distance, the less you need to drive a car in Newport the better!), the clean accomodations, the variety of home cooked breakfasts, and the hospitality of the innkeepers and staff. We've personally never been disappointed. And, over the years, we've also occasionally read through the guest book in the inn's entrance foyer. The overwhelming majority of comments are extremely favorable and usually end with "we'll be back".
As a bank commercial loan officer with 30 years of experience that has many customers engaged in both lodging and dining, I have a unique perspective and know full well how difficult these businesses can be. Most owners, including the innkeepers at the Artful Lodger, want to make your stay enjoyable and will try their best to address their guests concerns. Sadly, many choose not to say anything during the visit, but leave with only negative opinions. I would encourage those of you with concerns to always give management an opportunity to correct whatever problems you encounter.
Newport and the surrounding area is beautiful almost any time of the year. I would recommend a visit and try the Artful Lodger yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 186 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Connecticut
16
Reviewed October 17, 2005

Perhaps we should have known by the name: The Artful Lodger definitely ripped us off, just as Dickens' artful dodger ripped off people on the streets of his day.

There are only three good things I can say about this bed and breakfast establishment. 1. It has a central location as advertised. We were able to walk nearly everywhere, from the harbor area to the mansions and the Cliff Walk. 2. It was reasonably clean when we arrived. 3. The view from the breakfast area is atractive.

It goes downhill from there.

First off, I noticed in the guest book that someone else had called it "mediocre" and described breakfast as "NOT" very good. The next day, someone had changed this notation to "notable" breakfast. But breakfast was undercooked, served in an indifferent fashion and offered no choice at all--we were not even asked if we preferred our English muffin with or without margarine. It was undercooked, as were the pancakes on day one. Some sort of egg dish had cheese--there was no option to request that cheese be omitted. These simple changes would have improved our opinion of the place.

Secondly, there were no amenities other than location. None at all except a few wrapped candies in the hall. We were not offered much information other than dinner spots either. The host was unavailable.

Our tiny room, costing well over $100 per night, had only one chair in a corner, no place for a second person to sit other than the bed. At least the 13 inch television on the dresser was connected to cable. The bathroom had a stall shower, no tub, but we were not told that when we booked. There was no cross-ventilation and no fan in the room, despite the unusually hot October night. Other guests complained of the heat the following morning too.

The room was not vacuumed during our two day stay despite debris on the carpet. Soap and other necessities were not replenished.

The common area was not conducive to lounging, but set up only for show. The one phone for guests charged 35 cents per local call, more than most cell phones and more than the going rate locally. The outdoor seating areas featured either worn, broken rattan furniture (unlike the lovely new furniture on the website) or littered metal furniture in a small area of the parking lot.

Had this room cost under $100 on the weeknight we stayed there, I might have considered it adequate for the price, but it was closer to $150. I felt badly for my friend who had expected to treat me to a very nice getaway location.

We certainly would not stay at this establishment again.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 4, 2006

Please note that this reviewer could not help but bring up many positive points even though their intention was to be negative.

“It has a central location as advertised. We were able to walk everywhere, from the harbor area to the mansions and the Cliff Walk.”

“It was reasonably clean when we arrived”

“The view from the breakfast area is attractive”

“At least the 13 inch television was connected to cable”

The negatives were subjective details about the complimentary full gourmet breakfast. They wanted more than wrapped candies, but must have missed the fresh baked cookies. The “unusually hot October night” was beyond our control, air conditioning is provided in the warm months. “The common area was not conducive to lounging, but set up only for show”. Maybe, they do not know how to lounge and relax as many other guests have. The 25 cent phone was for people who come in to find we are full and need to use a phone. The “litter” on the outdoor furniture was probably leaves.

The $150 rate is very inexpensive for Newport especially for such a great location.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2003

Probably my most disappointing lodging experience to date! We often hear of websites making places look better than they really are, well here's one!The best way to describe it is imagine having a basement rec room and deciding to put a king size bed (that doesnt really fit) for overnight guests in it and you pretty much have your "victorian ambiance". Not that the rooms actually were in the basement, but thats the image they envoke. It was not a dirty place and the breakfasts were okay, but to think that I had one of the nicer rooms meaning there are worse rooms is frightening. Rooms dont have luxury items like closets, but instead have an old large coat rack, with old plexi glass covered early american furniture and a rather large printed flyer suggesting tips! Its not like this is the the least expensive place in town either. Newport has far better offerings than this believe me. Simply walk down Clarke Street and you'll score about 4 or 5 of them alone.

10  Thank Jon-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 4, 2006

As proud owners of the Artful Lodger, we felt the need to respond to negative reviews since we have so many positive ones that never get on this site. We have been in business since 1992 and still going strong. We don’t please everyone, but we please most and that would be thousands of people.

We have kept a few inexpensive rooms because not everyone can afford Newport prices with this location. Our best suites are well worth their rate, which is under many of our competitors.

The website has only authentic pictures of what we have, not a stage set. The imagination of this poster before and after arrival needs to be questioned. Fortunately, they did not imagine an unclean place and unacceptable breakfasts. They clearly state that. The Clarke Street location they mention is limited to downtown, whereas, we are located within downtown and also walking distance to the mansions and Cliff Walk. The Elms Mansion is diagonally across the street from our Inn.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: バスタブと暖炉つきのところ
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inakatoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Рекомендую брать номер с окнами во двор или второй этаж. Там не слышен шум от дороги и номера светле...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Viktor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
478rr, Owner at Artful Lodger Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olehinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justicedidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.8 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artful Lodger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artful Lodger Inn

Address: 503 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $85 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artful Lodger Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian with Harbor Views! Enjoy the Artful Lodger Inn! This Victorian Inn offers a variety of accommodations and a beautiful setting to just relax, unwind and enjoy. Neighboring The Elms mansion, we are an intimate treasure tucked amongst Newport's most glorious mansions as well as having close proximity to Newport's historic downtown. Each day at the Inn will start with a delicious gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artful Lodger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing