We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts and location”
Review of Artful Lodger Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artful Lodger Inn
Ranked #15 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hosts and location”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Artful Lodger last summer and had a great time. Michael and Leeza are awsome hosts. Breakfast was great and so was their advice on things to do. It's located in a quiet area that is very close to the center of town. Our room was very clean and well kept. I would highly recommend staying here when visitng Newport.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoePMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    29
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
103
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful stay here. Our room was very clean! The bed was nice and comfy. The staff is very friendly and made us a delicious breakfast! It was our second time staying here and won't be our last!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Artful Lodger for two nights on a quick getaway to Newport. It was our first experience with a B&B and we were so happy with our experience there. The room was clena, cozy and offered a private in-room bath. The garden was private, beautiful and perfect for a glass of wine at night. The best part about our stay was the breakfast - Mike and Lieza are fantastic hosts and even better chef's. I have to agree with most of the other reviews - the benedict was incredible. We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scferraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Mike and Lieza were great hosts, - great food and they even saved breakfast for us when the realized we missed the scheduled time. Mike's special bendict is great. Breakfast room is wonderful and they were wonderful hosts. The location is ideal, close to downtown and close to the south end. My only complaint is the unsteady stool for the climb into bed. Will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Artful Lodger this past weekend while in town for a wedding. We chose this bed and breakfast for its location (close proximity to downtown and the cliff walk), but we'll come back for the hospitality. Mike and Lieza were very welcoming and took great care of us. Breakfast was delicious both mornings we were there and the views of the harbor from the third floor breakfast room were fantastic. What a perfect way to start the day! Lieza was even kind enough to find the earrings I left in our room and mail them back to me. We'll definitely being staying at the Artful Lodger next time we're in Newport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Michel and Liesa were extremly welcoming and willing to please! Breakfast was substntial and just try Michael's own invention of an Eggs Benedict"! We would gladly stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cahillbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We decided on the Artful for the location, but will come back for Lieza and Michael hospitality!
Don't miss breakfast -- made to order! Although the spectacular view would make an McMuffin taste good.
We will be back, in fact, my wife is trying to think of an excuse to go to RI just to spend a long weekend at this B&B
Thank you Lieza and Mike, you made our trip memorable!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USArmyCW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
563 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.3 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artful Lodger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artful Lodger Inn

Property: Artful Lodger Inn
Address: 503 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artful Lodger Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Victorian with Harbor Views! Enjoy the Artful Lodger Inn! This Victorian Inn offers a variety of accommodations and a beautiful setting to just relax, unwind and enjoy. Neighboring The Elms mansion, we are an intimate treasure tucked amongst Newport's most glorious mansions as well as having close proximity to Newport's historic downtown. Each day at the Inn will start with a delicious gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Artful Lodger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing