We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay in a glamour cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Farge Perry House
Ranked #10 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went to Newport two week ago and we lodged in this luxury inn. Every detail in this historic house contributes to create a fantastic atmosphere. Our room was The Master Suite elegantly furnished.
The bathroom was huge and extremely refined, we had never seen a fireplace in a bathroom ! Marisa, the innkeeper, is very kind and willing to give us useful information. Thanks Marisa the most "simpatica" lady in New England and see you in Rome!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalvatoreVRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 359 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Matthew Perry for 2 nights and loved it. the house itself was pretty nice and in a very got shape and cozy. Our room was spacious and had a great view. Marise took care of us and gave us a lot of recommendations. The breakfast was great and all the public rooms where beautiful. Everything is walkable and there is also the possiblity to drive at The Chandler to do the cliff walk.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank reppis90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Inn was clean, comfortable, and conveniently located. It was a only a ten minute walk to the Thames Street waterfront area and only a ten minute drive to the Mansions on Bellevue Avenue. The welcoming care of the Innkeeper, Marise, is what sets this place apart from others. She cooked a wonderful breakfast and provided information regarding activities and dining. She offered umbrellas that proved valuable. She was engaging and quite entertaining. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankb582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A wonderful two nights stay in the John La Farge room in September. We felt privileged to be able to stay in such a beautiful house. The breakfasts were delicious. Thank you Marise for making us feel so welcome. We have such good memories of our 2 days in Newport.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rclem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent a wonderful two nights at the La Farge Perry House. Wish we had stayed for longer! The house is beautiful and the innkeeper Marise is a gem - she made us feel so welcome and had great recommendations for places to eat / visit in Newport. The house is conveniently located in walking distance to the town centre and has parking on-site. Delicious breakfast each morning completed the experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Every facet of this place is wonderful beginning with Marise the hostess, a charming, interesting, vibrant young lady with an incredible background. There is nothing she won't do to make your stay completely enjoyable and relaxing. The property is a gem, a beautifully restored old mansion. With plenty of on site parking and a short walk to Newport's great downtown area. Rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean and immaculate. Housekeeping done daily by the staff from the Chanler at Cliff Walk. For dinner one evening, we contacted the Chanler who provided us transportation to and from their property in their new Cadilliac Esclade Limo's. It made for an enjoyable evening for dinner and cocktails without worrying about the driving. Thank you Tim. Since my wife and I like to begin each day with a run thru the city, Marise accomandated us for breakfast the first morning with a late sitting. For our second morning, since we got off to a later start, she kept out some fresh fruit, granola, yoghurt, and coffee for us in the dining room all set up. We will be definitely returning to La Farge Perry House on our next visit.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked a last minuet trip to Rhode Island for a little get away to relax. We never expected the level of service that we received. Upon meeting our Inn Keeper, Marise, we knew instantly that we had picked the right place to stay. She made our family feel welcomed and attended "read" into the desires of our heart without being told. We stayed in the Master suite with our two older children. The room was well appointed with fine furnishings and a soft comfy king size bed. A bath of stylish luxury, and an ajoining room separated by the bath area. Tea and homemade cookies were left out for us in the afternoon to enjoy in the handsomely decorated "parlor". In the morning the coffee was ready for us upon waking, We casually strolled to the kitchen area in the bath robes that were provided to visit with our hostess. She freely shared herself and made us feel like family during our stay. Our daughters were able to experience first hand, for the first time what a quality Inn is like. Any inn can provide ambiance and fine furnishings, but not any Inn can create such a warm and inviting place to relax and enjoy. Thank you Marise for being so conscience about what you do and for caring for us the way that you did. We will certainly return for another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank up2dateRealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Farge Perry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Farge Perry House

Address: 24 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $176 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Farge Perry House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your La Farge Perry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Farge Perry House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing