We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I came back for more, and wasn't disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Farge Perry House
Ranked #10 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I visited LFP House back in 2010 when it had a different innkeeper, who was nice, but not quite as special as the new innkeeper Marise! She has a wonderful, welcoming personality and gave us some great recommendations for food and tips for getting around town. The room that we stayed in was at the top of the house and was very quiet and romantic. The breakfast room was beautifully laid and the food was delicious (granola, fruit, and yogurt to start with french toast one morning and eggs, sausage, and sweet potato hash browns another). I missed the signature coconut macaroons, but since I have the recipe from last time, I wasn't too distraught.

Looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: I liked the Oliver Hazard Perry room slightly better than the Margaret Perry La Farge based on size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstpierre22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 362 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here during the jazz festival and glad we did. The Bed and Breakfast was incredible. Maurice the inkeeper was excellent. We were lucky enough to arrive early and get the grand tour of this house. The rooms were spotless and very welcoming. The breakfast was excellent. Cant wait to go back. Thank You Maurice for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricmar146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This Bed and Breakfast was fantastic, and one of the best I’ve ever stayed in. La Farge Perry House is a Victorian-era home located in the heart of historic Newport. An easy walk to all the attractions, fine dining, shops and the wharf. The rooms were beautiful, elegant, comfortable, and even larger than expected from the pictures we had seen. The breakfast was excellent, home-cooked and perfectly prepared. However, what truly set this apart from other Bed and Breakfast experiences was the warmth and hospitality that was not only ingrained in the home itself, but in our innkeeper.

Never before have I felt so welcomed at a Bed and Breakfast, so able to enjoy all of the public rooms and everything the house had to offer. I found myself enjoying coffee with our innkeeper at the early hours of the day. The surrounding gardens and porch made for a beautiful backdrop, as well as a great location to spend the evening (at least when it wasn’t raining). I’d be hard pressed to recommend another Bed and Breakfast over La Farge Perry house; it was one of the highlights of our trip.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and they even have two suites that attach for group visits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricGuido_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the John LaFarge room on the first floor. When we arrived, Marise, the innkeeper, was quite gracious and took us on a tour of the entire house. The home is quite nicely appointed and very clean. Marise told us to "make the house our home" and that is exactly how we felt, only very pampered. Breakfasts were great and homemade cookies were always available in the afternoon. We have stayed in many B&B's and this was one of the most pleasant experiences we have had. Our room was cleaned immaculately each day. Even though it rained alot during our vacation, it didn't dampen our trip as we always looked forward to coming "home" to Marise and the LaFarge Perry House.

Room Tip: The John Lafarge room can get just a tad warm at night but Marise had no problem with us adjusting t...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 1,360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We only stayed at the La Farge Perry House for one night, and we wish we had stayed longer. We tried three different places in three nights. Our innkeeper, Maurice (?), had only been there for two weeks and you would have thought it was much longer. Moshe was very welcoming and helpful. Not only did she run the place, she cooked the wonderful breakfast that we had as well. We stayed in the Oliver room with a king bed on the second floor. It was very large with a refrigerator and a nice size bathroom. It was within easy walking distance from the center of town and had plan of parking. There was a large group of people staying there who were attending a wedding, and they made the atmosphere more fun, but we would have enjoyed ourselves regardless. It was a wonderful stay, and we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for a night. We wished we had stayed for more. Lovely rooms, quirky house and easy walking to the town centre/ waterfront and mansions. The car park is also large.
The breakfasts are wonderful and they make the best cup of tea I have had on the east coast!
We will be visiting again?

Room Tip: I think any room would be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pongowaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here on my first visit to Newport with my sister..
Newport is a lovely place and by staying at La Farge made our visit sooooooo much more.
Jenny, was just the perfect innkeeper.
She could not do enough for us! She was kind, funny, attentive, the perfect cook and even more perfect at cookie making. She is a true asset to La Farge Perry!!!!!
Our room was beautiful, very clean and extremely comfortable.
There is not one negative comment to make!
Well maybe one........... We had to leave to come home! :-)
Our holiday experience at Newport was definitely made more enjoyable because of Jenny and
La Farge. We will never forget our stay.
Thank you Jenny x

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 mi away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
0.2 mi away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#5 of 96 in Newport
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Farge Perry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Farge Perry House

Address: 24 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840-2725
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $164 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Farge Perry House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Farge Perry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Farge Perry House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing