We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Farge Perry House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Farge Perry House
Ranked #4 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great B&B in great location in Newport. It is a magnificent old house and the innkeeper clearly loves what she does. Fresh macaroons and cookies are always available (she even gave me some on our way out!). Breakfast is basically customized to whatever your heart desires and is absolutely delicious. We stayed in the Matthew Perry room on the third floor, lots of stairs involved. The room was really nice, but hot (even in late winter we needed the windows opened the entire time, but it was nice to have the breeze). Next time we are in need of a B&B in Newport we will absolutely be here.

Room Tip: 3rd floor lots of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
242
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Before staying here we've learned that La Farge is one of the artists of glass and put a piece on the Breakers mansion. We also saw a piece in the room. Friendly environment. It would have been better in spring.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milkstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous bed and breakfast - the house is stunning. Despite its newer amentities, the house maintains its vintage feel. The service was perfection and the breakfast was one of the most delicious I have ever had. A gas fireplace, comfortable sitting area and tea station were the perfect combo after walking around Newport on a cold day celebrating Winterfest. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: I am sure all of the rooms are as beautiful as ours, but the rich reds of the John La Farge room wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We only stayed for one night after Thanksgiving and enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean with a comfortable queen bed. We had the whole place to ourselves. The innkeeper was very helpful and pleasant and made us an excellent breakfast in the beautiful dining room. Wish we could have stayed longer. The house doesn't look like much from the curb, but it is nicely decorated and well appointed inside. Would highly recommend if visiting Newport. We were shown all the rooms as they were empty, all very nice. A very pleasant but short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this elegant, comfortable yet homely guest house. It was so delightful there that I'd happily take on the job of running it although I'm not sure I could do it as well as Jennifer, the manager and live-in hostess.
We were encouraged to treat lLa Farge as a home away from home, including use of the kitchen. Had the weather been warmer in the evenings, I know we would have loved sitting out on the inviting board verandah. Home made biscuits and cakes were always available and the omelette at breakfast was delicious. Jennifer is clearly interested in food. And recipes and was generous enough to share some birthday cake with us. Our bedroom (the suite) was fantastic and far exceeded our expectations. Everything had been thought of and the marble bathroom was reminiscent of a belle époque experience but with all the modern touches. Three of us stayed very comfortably in the suite. We stayed at this guesthouse on their autumn saver package which meant that we had a free pass to the Cliff Walk mansions and a lunch at the sister establishment - the Chancler. We had a wonderful stay in Newport and hope to return to the town and the guesthouse soon.

Room Tip: The suite was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjtWindsor_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just back from a great night here! Jennifer, the innkeeper, could not have been nicer/ more helpful. Was just a wonderful escape--luxurious, old world, comfortable stay. We stayed in the Perry room and we loved the serene, warm decor. The fireplace, jacuzzi and beautiful wooden 4 poster bed with great linens all made for a super stay. walking distance to all the goodies and just a great escape. The kitchen downstairs is added bonus: fireplace and couch for guests to relax. The breakfast room is so relaxing and the food was fab. can't wait to return !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citycountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We get there by the afternoon and there was very welcoming scent of fresh homemade cookie all over the B&B. This very charming New England house is located a walking distance (and a pleasant stroll) from the best shops and restaurants in Newport. We choosed the Matthew Perry room: very cozy, very confortable and as large as a presidential suite (easy to remember: same name as the "friends" sitcom actor). Despite a minor problem with a not working thermostat (an open window with a refreshing night sea breeze solved the problem), we slept like angels. Next morning, the choices of breakfast were unbelievable. I asked for a full english breakfast with eggs, hash browns, saussages and french toasts, and my wife had the pancake-blueberry combination. It is the friendly innkeepers, Jennifer and Miguel, who cook your breakfast, all fresh and very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#2 of 102 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Farge Perry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Farge Perry House

Property: La Farge Perry House
Address: 24 Kay Street, Newport, RI 02840-2725
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Farge Perry House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your La Farge Perry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Farge Perry House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing