We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect for a Romantic Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Farge Perry House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Farge Perry House
Ranked #4 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect for a Romantic Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous bed and breakfast - the house is stunning. Despite its newer amentities, the house maintains its vintage feel. The service was perfection and the breakfast was one of the most delicious I have ever had. A gas fireplace, comfortable sitting area and tea station were the perfect combo after walking around Newport on a cold day celebrating Winterfest. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: I am sure all of the rooms are as beautiful as ours, but the rich reds of the John La Farge room wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
230
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We only stayed for one night after Thanksgiving and enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean with a comfortable queen bed. We had the whole place to ourselves. The innkeeper was very helpful and pleasant and made us an excellent breakfast in the beautiful dining room. Wish we could have stayed longer. The house doesn't look like much from the curb, but it is nicely decorated and well appointed inside. Would highly recommend if visiting Newport. We were shown all the rooms as they were empty, all very nice. A very pleasant but short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this elegant, comfortable yet homely guest house. It was so delightful there that I'd happily take on the job of running it although I'm not sure I could do it as well as Jennifer, the manager and live-in hostess.
We were encouraged to treat lLa Farge as a home away from home, including use of the kitchen. Had the weather been warmer in the evenings, I know we would have loved sitting out on the inviting board verandah. Home made biscuits and cakes were always available and the omelette at breakfast was delicious. Jennifer is clearly interested in food. And recipes and was generous enough to share some birthday cake with us. Our bedroom (the suite) was fantastic and far exceeded our expectations. Everything had been thought of and the marble bathroom was reminiscent of a belle époque experience but with all the modern touches. Three of us stayed very comfortably in the suite. We stayed at this guesthouse on their autumn saver package which meant that we had a free pass to the Cliff Walk mansions and a lunch at the sister establishment - the Chancler. We had a wonderful stay in Newport and hope to return to the town and the guesthouse soon.

Room Tip: The suite was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjtWindsor_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just back from a great night here! Jennifer, the innkeeper, could not have been nicer/ more helpful. Was just a wonderful escape--luxurious, old world, comfortable stay. We stayed in the Perry room and we loved the serene, warm decor. The fireplace, jacuzzi and beautiful wooden 4 poster bed with great linens all made for a super stay. walking distance to all the goodies and just a great escape. The kitchen downstairs is added bonus: fireplace and couch for guests to relax. The breakfast room is so relaxing and the food was fab. can't wait to return !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citycountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We get there by the afternoon and there was very welcoming scent of fresh homemade cookie all over the B&B. This very charming New England house is located a walking distance (and a pleasant stroll) from the best shops and restaurants in Newport. We choosed the Matthew Perry room: very cozy, very confortable and as large as a presidential suite (easy to remember: same name as the "friends" sitcom actor). Despite a minor problem with a not working thermostat (an open window with a refreshing night sea breeze solved the problem), we slept like angels. Next morning, the choices of breakfast were unbelievable. I asked for a full english breakfast with eggs, hash browns, saussages and french toasts, and my wife had the pancake-blueberry combination. It is the friendly innkeepers, Jennifer and Miguel, who cook your breakfast, all fresh and very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived early. Jennifer nevertheless greeted us and took our bags in. We were immediately offered coffee and homemade cake and cookies by the warmth of the fire. It was a day before Sandy struck and Jennifer (the innkeeper) ensured we were comfortable and relaxed about the situation offering help if we could not travel the next day. Lovely old house with easy parking at the front. The room was truly lovely - view of the sea, jacuzzi bath,up-market toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobes. Comfortable bed and all the information we could want on Newport including advice to visit The Breakers. Lovely breakfast in the morning. Wonderful, warm, hospitable stay. Go to the Black Pearl for excellent mussels and exquisite clam chowder

Room Tip: Take the Matthew Perry room for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zenovya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This gorgeous property is well situated in Newport. You can walk to the harbor/wharf area in just a few minutes and walking is probably the best option as the traffic can be busy (it was a weekend when we were there).
Jennifer made us very welcome. Our room was on the third floor, had a lot of character and was very clean. The bathroom was large and well appointed, including a jacuzzi. Overall, the house is very elegant.
For breakfast, there is a large table where you can get to know some of the other guests which is very enjoyable. There was plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast with beautifully cooked and well presented food. This is a B&B we'd happily recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nobletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,654 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Farge Perry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Farge Perry House

Property: La Farge Perry House
Address: 24 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840-2725
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Farge Perry House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your La Farge Perry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Farge Perry House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing