We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Farge Perry House
Ranked #8 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
“An oasis in Newport”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I happened across this Inn a few weeks ago while visiting family in RI, and am thrilled I did and already cannot wait to return! I was warmly greeted by the Innkeeper, Jennifer and immediately was at ease in this incredibly beautiful home. She is incredibly gracious and well versed in the best of Newport, and her recommendations were spot on. As I know my way around Newport, I was more interested in the home itself during my stay, although being able to take perhaps one of my favorite walks in RI - from the Inn down Kay St to RI Ave to Memorial Blvd to the beach and then back up Memorial to Bellvue and back to 24 Kay St - was a true highlight on a quiet early Sunday morning...The rooms here are all so cozy and well-appointed, and I even had an opportunity to see the grand master suite with perhaps the coolest chandelier I've ever seen. So so thrilled to learn about this sister property of the amazing Chanler, and cannot wait to return someday soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chatelaineDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
252
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We came across this B & B, trying to find a place where they would let people stay for two nights rather than the rule, it seems of 3 nights if it involved a weekend. And boy are we glad we did.
Due to an error I made in a previous reservation in Cape Cod, we needed to arrive a day early and we were totally accommodated. The suite was charming and comfortable, the bed was the best we had ever slept in. The food was amazing, and we enjoyed the sitting room, as one of the days was quite rainy. Jennifer came in, brought us goodies and wonderful conversation. She recommended some great restaurants, and we are sure to be going back.
Jennifer was truly a great hostess. Thank you for a wonderful stay
Andy and Ramona

Room Tip: We had the Master Suite. It was quiet, no road noise, never heard any other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenboy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I booked La Farge for a mid-week getaway to celebrate our anniversary. Jenn, the innkeeper, immediately made us feel welcome and at home upon our arrival. She recommended local restaurants (definitely check out Tallulah), beaches, and mansions to visit. Breakfast each morning was a real treat and offered diverse choices each morning. In the afternoon, a fresh made cookie or macaroon was also provided! It was a situated in a nice area on Kay street, about a 15-20 min walk from the downtown area. Jenn booked our sunset sailing cruise for us as well.

The inn is a large, well-maintained home with beautiful and spacious rooms. We stayed in the Matthew Perry room on the 3rd floor, it was spacious and very private with a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. It is the sister property of the Chanler, a beautiful inn on the Cliff Walk which we visited for lunch at their restaurant, the Spiced Pear.

We are sending my parents to the La Farge and hope to return next summer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoSoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

On our second trip to Newport, my husband and I came across La Farge Perry House, which is affiliated with the Chandler, a very high end property on Cliff Walk. The Innkeeper, Jennifer, if extremely accommodating, friendly, and knowledgeable about the region. She cooks a great full breakfast to your personal liking, and is willing to provide restaurant suggestions and travel arrangements. The rooms are spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated, including fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. La Farge has a real homey feeling without being too precious. It was one of the best B&B experiences we ever had and we will certainly try it again.

Room Tip: Suite is magnificent--second floor rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckenham kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stumbled across this property after driving from an awful hotel in Sturbridge and oh i'm so glad we did.

It is a beautiful property, elegant and stylish. The rooms we're spacious and clean.You feel like your visiting someones home who has a lot of money. The Innkeeper Jennifer was kind and helpful and the breakfast she cooked us the next was wonderful, thank you. Very easy walkng distance to town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diysos63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

La Farge Perry House is a highly recommended option in Newport. We loved everything: the room, the breakfast and the lovely staff. Rooms are spacious, spot-clean and decorated with taste. The breakfast is cooked fresh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gendarmestropez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I chose the La Farge Perry House for a recent weekend in Newport based on the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor - and I was not disappointed! Like Newport itself, the inn has an interesting history; it was the 19th century residence of the artist John La Farge and his wife Margaret, a descendant of Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry. Our room, the John La Farge room, was quiet, comfortable, and beautifully decorated in deep warm burgundy tones, but the piece de resistance was the enormous bathroom with a wonderfully contemporary stained glass window by the artist above the jacuzzi tub. Jennifer, the innkeeper, made our stay even more memorable with her hospitality and generous gourmet breakfasts. We look forward to returning on our next trip to Newport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuFlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Farge Perry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Farge Perry House

Property: La Farge Perry House
Address: 24 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840-2725
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Farge Perry House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Farge Perry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Farge Perry House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing