We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Newport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location location location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a perfect location within easy walking distance to the large number of restaurants and bars that Newport offers. Clean comfortable. Breakfast consists of a yogurt cup, coffee, orange juice. A bonus is free parking which is a hard to find commodity in Newport.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    90
    27
    28
    24
See reviews for
48
116
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Suite rooms the best-you could enterain a crowd! Bedroom has true block-out-light shades and uber-comfrey beds. Great location to everything-esp Red Parrot and Oyster Restaurants. Contintental standard breakfast and beautiful bathrooms. Only downside was loud music, but may have been an outside source as hotel tried to identify and it stopped at 11. Would definately stay here again in Newport.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HilltownTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visited the Newport Bay club in early May, from Monday to Friday. It is located in a former historic mill, which lends so much charm to the suite: high ceilings, huge windows, nice woodwork, etc. The living area was spacious & clean as opposed to the sleeping area, which was relatively small. We didn't mind that the room was small, but I do believe we were in a double bed (never did confirm this, but it seemed so much narrower than the king we have at home!) That really was the only negative. The bath was modern & spacious. The location is perfect, easy walking distance to everything downtown. We did not encounter the rude manager that was mentioned in other reviews; we experienced a very helpful and friendly front desk. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellanonna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Not only is it the perfect location but our room was amazing!! It's called a house room...we got the 1 bedroom. I was amazed walking in to see a huge living room, dining room. kitchen and bathroom also a balcony, but that wasn't all!!! There was a spiral staircase which led upstairs to a bedroom with another balcony and beautiful bath. It was so great for the price. We will be back again to stay longer.

Room Tip: I posted photos of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chetndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANTAGH
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

It's difficult to find a nice place in Newport that isn't silly expensive and very convenient. This is one such hotel. We stayed last August from Monday thru Friday and loved the suite (living room, kitchen, large bathroom and bedroom). It was an attractive and comfortable suite that was very clean and overlooked the harbor. It was right across the street from the Red Parrot and a few great pubs. You received a parking ticket that allowed you to park in their parking lot- which in Newport is key!! So... pretty suites, great location (middle of town), close to the mansions, wonderful restaurants, stores and the beaches. Staff was efficient and the the bed was very comfy- oh and there's a pull out bed in the couch too. We were pleased we picked the Newport Bay Club and Hotel and plan on going back this summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel is in the heart of everything to do in Newport. A short walk to the excellent restaurants, shops and bars. Only a short drive to the mansions. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer. Front desk very accommodating, cheerful and helpful. Even cleaning staff greeted me with a nice 'hello' and when we departed a 'hope you enjoyed your stay'. The standard room we got was very spacious. Had a kitchen/living-room, a little area with a dining table, separate bedroom and large bathroom. The place was spotless and very clean. Good job cleaning staff! 3rd and 4th floors have an observation area where you can sit and look over the bay, read a book, enjoy a beverage. Free parking! I could go on and on. Place was excellent. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

When my husband and I, along with our 3 young children arrived at the hotel and went to our suite, we found vomit on the sides and front of the toilet. The front desk did send someone to clean the toilet.
In the morning, my husband found that there was dried vomit on his pillow which was covered up by the pillowcase. Disgusting, there is no excuse for this, which tells you housekeeping is not too swift and no one really cares.
When checking out, I talked with a man at the front desk about the vomit on the pillow it was obvious he had no customer service experience, he said they already credited me $50.00 because of the toilet! That's all I wanted was an apology, which I never got. This man didn't even have the decency to say he was sorry and defend the hotel's reputation. I assume this must be a normal occurrence.
There are lots of great hotels at this price range in Newport - check around and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank ladyjoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Bay Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Property: Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Address: 337 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newport Bay Club & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club is an all-suite hotel located on the Harborfront in downtown Newport, RI. Beautiful one and two bedroom suites and multi level townhouses with kitchens, living and dining areas. Sweeping views from our private outside decks. Located at the intersection of America's Cup Avenue and Thames Street, this prime address allows you to leave your vehicle in our private lot (parking is included for ONE vehicle only) and walk to all of downtown Newport's offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Newport Bay Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Bay Club Hotel Newport
Newport Bay Club And Hotel
Newport Bay Hotel
Bay Club Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing