We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have asked for more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Kinnelon, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel is in the heart of everything to do in Newport. A short walk to the excellent restaurants, shops and bars. Only a short drive to the mansions. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer. Front desk very accommodating, cheerful and helpful. Even cleaning staff greeted me with a nice 'hello' and when we departed a 'hope you enjoyed your stay'. The standard room we got was very spacious. Had a kitchen/living-room, a little area with a dining table, separate bedroom and large bathroom. The place was spotless and very clean. Good job cleaning staff! 3rd and 4th floors have an observation area where you can sit and look over the bay, read a book, enjoy a beverage. Free parking! I could go on and on. Place was excellent. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    94
    27
    28
    24
See reviews for
50
121
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

When my husband and I, along with our 3 young children arrived at the hotel and went to our suite, we found vomit on the sides and front of the toilet. The front desk did send someone to clean the toilet.
In the morning, my husband found that there was dried vomit on his pillow which was covered up by the pillowcase. Disgusting, there is no excuse for this, which tells you housekeeping is not too swift and no one really cares.
When checking out, I talked with a man at the front desk about the vomit on the pillow it was obvious he had no customer service experience, he said they already credited me $50.00 because of the toilet! That's all I wanted was an apology, which I never got. This man didn't even have the decency to say he was sorry and defend the hotel's reputation. I assume this must be a normal occurrence.
There are lots of great hotels at this price range in Newport - check around and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank ladyjoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I have sent several long weekends in Newport at the Newport Bay club. The rooms are pleasant and clean. It gives us a nice option of eating in (eg. breakfast) or conveniently heading out to downtown. Staff was very friendly. Location is perfect for all sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here a week...very convenient to everything...walking distance to some! The staff is friendly and helpful; the apartments are large. Hubby was stationed in Newport in the 1960's; we had not been back. We found the unit to be just what we needed; clean, private, quiet and close to Newport town center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Newport Bay Club and Hotel:

We have stayed here twice over the Christmas holiday (2012 and 2010) for a week each time. The location of the hotel is perfect. Right at the top of lower Thames and walking distance to nearly everything in downtown Newport. Because our stays have been through a time share exchange, I am not sure if there is a difference between a week long stay and your typical overnight, but I can say that it's a hotel we'll use again.

Pros:
-Location
- Great views of skating rink (in winter), the harbor, and Thames St.
- Ample reserved parking for guests.
-Housekeeping staff was very friendly and did a great job.

Cons:
-On our last stay the front desk staff was a bit curt (we were staying 7 days, and driving up from NY… and you'd think in the winter in RI there wouldn't be a problem with requesting an early check-in… well, they didn't seem to appreciate the request).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We came here to stay in a friend's time share for a week. When we arrived, we were told by the staff member on duty, Neely, that we were 1 week early. We realized that our friend had given us the wrong date. Even though it was not her issue, she found a place for us to stay that night. She then found a room for us for the rest of the week and switched the week for our friend as well so as not to cause any issue. So I'm not sure where everyone is getting the "rude" issue with the staff. Everyone that we spoke to during our stay was kind and helpful.
Don't expect a Four Seasons experience here. It's clean with the amenities needed. There is no pool. It's right in the middle of everything. Great location! If you want luxury, head someplace else. If you want a roomy, clean place to sleep in after you've walked all over the cliffs and town, this is your place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lmendeznp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Is wish I could give the Bay Club a better review, but there is room for improvement. It was obvious the bathroom, kitchen, and bedroom had been remodeled, but they still needed to replace the carpet in our 2 bedroom unit and update the living room furniture and art work. The Bay Club is in a very old mill. On one hand the history is great, but on the other, hand, there was a musty smell, especially in the stairway which could be detrimental if you have a mold allergy. The location was perfect, we could walk to restaurants, St. Mary's Church, and even the Mansions on Bellevue if you are up for a LONG walk. We enjoyed having the two bedroom unit with living room and full kitchen as we were out most of the day, then would come back to enjoy snacks and a glass a wine in the livingroom while chatting about the day.

Based on other reviews, we tried to avoid the front desk as much as possible. Overall, I felt they were trying to be plesant, but one staff member was rude to one of my friends when she needed something from the front desk. And yes, it does make a difference in where I would choose to stay.

The Bay Club offers free parking, free wifi (which was decent) and a free continental breakfast which was basic muffins, coffee, juice and fruit (hey it's free).

We arrived on Saturday, and there were a lot of drunk people in the streets making a lot of noise, including the band from the nightclub in the basement which woke me up at 2:00 AM when they were packing up. Things quieted down after Saturday.

I would still recommend the Bay Club and go back based on the location, which can't be beat.

Room Tip: Away from the bar/restaurant/nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToTravel1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Bay Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Property: Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Address: 337 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newport Bay Club & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club is an all-suite hotel located on the Harborfront in downtown Newport, RI. Beautiful one and two bedroom suites and multi level townhouses with kitchens, living and dining areas. Sweeping views from our private outside decks. Located at the intersection of America's Cup Avenue and Thames Street, this prime address allows you to leave your vehicle in our private lot (parking is included for ONE vehicle only) and walk to all of downtown Newport's offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Newport Bay Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Bay Club And Hotel
Newport Bay Club Hotel Newport
Newport Bay Hotel
Bay Club Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing