We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was ok until they sold my info...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I enjoyed our stay in February of 2013. Room was acceptable (not the quietest but we survived), close to everything. But then I just got a call from a Time Share company trying to get me to go to their presentation on the guise of me "winning something great". I do NOT like having my info sold to outside companies!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 300 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked a last minute two-night stay here at a great price. I found the much-maligned manager absolutely lovely and friendly on the phone, and the same in person. On the grand scheme of things, I don't gauge my holiday breaks by the hotel staff so I can't understand why people give it so much weight, whether good or bad...
The location was amazing, right at the port. Our room was a very pleasant surprise - very spacious, well decorated and cool. The shower nearly blew me away it was so powerful. Good bathroom. We were really pleasantly surprised. Free parking too. It is NOT a traditional hotel so it shouldn't be expected to provide the same level of service as a full scale hotel.
The only one small thing was the breakfast - we hadn't realised that there would be nothing left if we didn't get there at 8am sharp. However, if breakfast hadn't been included, that wouldn't have stopped us booking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We've stay at the Bay Club many times over the years. The hotel itself is very nice. The customer service is horrible along with there General Manager. I hope the owners take the time to read this. Its seems there's a lot of complaints regarding customer service. The staff appear like your bothering them. The General Manager in particular is rude and definitely not a proper fit for the Newport scene. She should be fired and her staff as well. I shall no longer be staying there after 20 yrs of being a loyal customer. Oh and don't get caught up in there time share scam. When I complained to the GM there about how we were treated she stated and I quote " I would of known better, not the hotels problem". Since it was the hotel that game them my name I think they are.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mike57862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My son and his girlfriend came to visit New England for the first time so we stayed all over the area. We loved the hotel as it had everything we needed. The two room suite was perfect for us so we weren't right on top of each other. We found the last parking spot in the fenced in area and had 5:00pm dinner outside at the restaurant, loving the 5:00pm boat horns that go off to start the evening fun. The kitchen was so convenient and we stored our own alcohol in the large fridge and had food the next morning. We were able to walk down Thames to the shops and found exactly what we were looking for. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We were in the middle of the floor and since we went to the concert next door, we weren't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8FunGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

You drive into Newport and see the front of this building with a lovely sign that makes it look great. But staying there with my friends, we found that they were super un-helpful at the front desk - like we were bothering them. Then, the cleaning service wasn't too swift, the room was noisy at night. No room service. Finally, it was Expensive!

There are lots of great hotels at this price range in Newport - check around and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cynthia752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The good: This hotel is in the center of Newport and walking distance (1/2 mile or less) to just about everything except the beach and Fort Adams. It was clean and had nice accommodations -- we had a 1 bedroom townhouse w/ microwave, coffee pot, sink, dishwasher and 1.5 baths. It came equipped with dishes and silverware. The staff not as friendly as some places, but certainly professional and responsive, so cheerfulness not much of an issue for fellow New Englanders.

The not-so-good: Had some items not working (bedroom balcony door, fan in lower bath), but the balcony off the living area worked, so upstairs issue not so bad. They were a little cheap with the paper products (had to ask for additional toilet paper) and ran low on kleenex; also no paper towels in kitchen. Had one of the WiFi passwords not work, so had to obtain 1 additional (we had 4 total) -- but again, not a crisis and by no means a reason to not stay there! Also the AC fan was a bit noisy, but at least the AC worked -- and it worked very well.

Overall: I would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 06410cheshirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

First the good;The building is beautiful on the outside and the location is smack in the center of the happening section of Newport, very close to the water. So far so good. The parking is right behind the building, free, worked fine, and the suite we had was beautiful. Cable TV, flat screen, kitchen, beautiful painting son the walls,tons of historic character with beams and planks beautifully decorated. There aren't any grounds really.
The bad; Staff , (if you could call them that) are friendly enough but you should not expect hotel like customer service. I guess because this is a time share place and not a hotel where guests generally walk in or book over the phone. So there is this listless zombie hotel type effect as if the people working there aren't paid to to talk to you or help you. I don't think its really true but that's the impression you get. And on an expensive vacation- impressions matter. There is a small reception desk manned only during the day, by an unfriendly lady....and not much else --no proper lobby either, its small stores. There is a bar in the basement ( we didn't go) and a coffee shop on the ground floor. The continental breakfast was very sparse. The noise from the bar across the street was pretty noticeable all night. The hallways and elevator are dated ( who chose that brown floor tile?) but overall okay.
If you want a historic building in downtown Newport...this place is beautiful (except for the lobby and hallway) its in the right spot, the room was gorgeous and clean. The customer service really is not there. The feeling of welcoming and cheerful reception -- not there. If you know that ahead of time you should be okay. The room was really nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hudsonvalleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Bay Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Address: 337 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $129 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newport Bay Club & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club is an all-suite hotel located on the Harborfront in downtown Newport, RI. Beautiful one and two bedroom suites and multi level townhouses with kitchens, living and dining areas. Sweeping views from our private outside decks. Located at the intersection of America's Cup Avenue and Thames Street, this prime address allows you to leave your vehicle in our private lot (parking is included for ONE vehicle only) and walk to all of downtown Newport's offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Newport Bay Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Bay Club Hotel Newport
Newport Bay Club And Hotel
Newport Bay Hotel
Bay Club Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing