We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location & Clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location & Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The good: This hotel is in the center of Newport and walking distance (1/2 mile or less) to just about everything except the beach and Fort Adams. It was clean and had nice accommodations -- we had a 1 bedroom townhouse w/ microwave, coffee pot, sink, dishwasher and 1.5 baths. It came equipped with dishes and silverware. The staff not as friendly as some places, but certainly professional and responsive, so cheerfulness not much of an issue for fellow New Englanders.

The not-so-good: Had some items not working (bedroom balcony door, fan in lower bath), but the balcony off the living area worked, so upstairs issue not so bad. They were a little cheap with the paper products (had to ask for additional toilet paper) and ran low on kleenex; also no paper towels in kitchen. Had one of the WiFi passwords not work, so had to obtain 1 additional (we had 4 total) -- but again, not a crisis and by no means a reason to not stay there! Also the AC fan was a bit noisy, but at least the AC worked -- and it worked very well.

Overall: I would recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 06410cheshirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    90
    27
    28
    24
See reviews for
48
116
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

First the good;The building is beautiful on the outside and the location is smack in the center of the happening section of Newport, very close to the water. So far so good. The parking is right behind the building, free, worked fine, and the suite we had was beautiful. Cable TV, flat screen, kitchen, beautiful painting son the walls,tons of historic character with beams and planks beautifully decorated. There aren't any grounds really.
The bad; Staff , (if you could call them that) are friendly enough but you should not expect hotel like customer service. I guess because this is a time share place and not a hotel where guests generally walk in or book over the phone. So there is this listless zombie hotel type effect as if the people working there aren't paid to to talk to you or help you. I don't think its really true but that's the impression you get. And on an expensive vacation- impressions matter. There is a small reception desk manned only during the day, by an unfriendly lady....and not much else --no proper lobby either, its small stores. There is a bar in the basement ( we didn't go) and a coffee shop on the ground floor. The continental breakfast was very sparse. The noise from the bar across the street was pretty noticeable all night. The hallways and elevator are dated ( who chose that brown floor tile?) but overall okay.
If you want a historic building in downtown Newport...this place is beautiful (except for the lobby and hallway) its in the right spot, the room was gorgeous and clean. The customer service really is not there. The feeling of welcoming and cheerful reception -- not there. If you know that ahead of time you should be okay. The room was really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hudsonvalleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed there recently as the guest of a time share customer. Her purse disappeared on the second day and the staff was monumentally unhelpful. Although Josh at the front desk said that they looked at the security camera tapes to see if they could figure out what happened to her purse (which she had in the lobby but not when she got to the car ) --- his colleague later told us that they never even looked at the tapes because the machine was broken -- so, for some mysterious reason -- Josh lied.

He always acted like it was a big imposition when we asked him for help. The purse was never recovered, my friend lost everything, and it put a stressful pall on our vacation.

We had a two bedroom condo – but they only provided for one parking space and a nearby space cost an exorbitant 30 dollars a day.

Although our maid Lorraine was extremely friendly -- cleanliness is not a priority in this hotel. Wi-Fi was hard to access and when I asked Josh at the desk for help he told me my phone was broken -- though I was able to access wifi at the nearby Starbucks.

If you have options for your Newport stay, you should choose something else over this sketchy place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked a three night stay here in the two bedroom townhouse. Very disappointed, paid $599 a night and left after two nights because it was so bad. One of the beds on the first night we arrived we found the sheets dirty, lots of hair in the bed, and there are no extra linens or blankets in the closets. Kids slept on couch because they wouldn't touch the dirty bed. Called next morning asked twice to have bed made up with new sheets and leave extra blankets, didn't! Happen. We called around to get another hotel but, everyone was booked so after two nights we cut our trip short and left. Hard pillows, hard beds, old sheets and just hope they have been washed. Place has no noise filters, everything squeaks and rattles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a lovely facility in a historic structure in the midst of the Newport waterfront scene. The rooms are nicely appointed, clean and spacious. There is no restaurant, but there is a breakfast room, and a mini-deli on the ground floor and - you're in the middle of the downtown Newport waterfront restaurant district - easy walking to lots of good eating, and a quick bike ride or drive to the Tennis Hall of Fame, the Cliff Walk and many other Newport destinations.

Room Tip: You may not want to be on the "big band" side of the building when there are shows in town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSEliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middletown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice room...suitable for our needs. Rude, uncooperative, staff!!!!!! If you do a package deal, get all of the specifics in writing including the $$$$ amount of any gift certificate and precisely where the gift certificate is valid. Much confusion with our package. Tried to give us a $25 gift certificate to the Rhino Club or the Red Parrot rather than an $80 certificate to The Mooring. Both of those restaurants are dumps!! Had I known, I wouldn't have done the package! Thank goodness The Mooring honored the gift certificate!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidingö
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This condo/hotel suited us perfectly. We are a family of four and stayed in the onebedroom townhouse the first night and got a possibility to switch to a twobedroom townhouse the next night. Nice homey feeling and very spacious - perfect when travelling w 2 teens.
Staff is very helpful and serviceminded. You cant expect resortstandard at this price so we are more than satisfied. We have two balconies one on each floor facing the eveningsun. If you sleep lightly try to get a room closer to the pier because traffic starts early at Thames St. Dont bother about the Continental Breakfast coffee/muffins/Danish(complimentary)
but go to the very nice coffeeshop in connection to the hotel where you get homemade creamcheese and nice bagels and really good muffins and scones. Perfect spot to stay when in Newport!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleSthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Bay Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Property: Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Address: 337 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newport Bay Club & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club is an all-suite hotel located on the Harborfront in downtown Newport, RI. Beautiful one and two bedroom suites and multi level townhouses with kitchens, living and dining areas. Sweeping views from our private outside decks. Located at the intersection of America's Cup Avenue and Thames Street, this prime address allows you to leave your vehicle in our private lot (parking is included for ONE vehicle only) and walk to all of downtown Newport's offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Newport Bay Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Bay Club Hotel Newport
Newport Bay Club And Hotel
Newport Bay Hotel
Bay Club Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing