We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Loud noise from the bands playing in the basement level Rhino bar permeate the upper floors om Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. The noise continued until 2 AM with the band members packing, and the vdeparting bar customers yelling out on the street. The Front Desk and Security were ineffective and did nothing to elliminate or quiet the situation. In addition, the hallways and back stairway to the parking lot smelled of rotting food from the Rhino bar kitchen or dumpster.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rbaker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    107
    32
    29
    24
See reviews for
60
136
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We wandered into this property without a reservation, paid for one night, but had to stay longer! It's a hotel condo and some of the owners put their units in the rental pool, so I imagine that summers and holidays are a tough reservation, but we were in town Thursday and Friday nights between Christmas and New Year's and got lucky. It's a fabulous historic mill that's been remodeled into a hotel on the main drag in downtown Newport, right on the wharf. Get a townhouse on the fourth floor; it's a one-bedroom, one and one-half bath unit with a kitchenette, and balconies on both floors overlooking the bay and downtown. The room and hotel in general were both clean. There is a bar/restaurant in the basement of the hotel, but those are EVERYWHERE in Newport!! Onsite parking is a plus and we walked to all the nearby shopping and dining. There are ALOT of lodging options in Newport and most are WELL OVER $250 per night, but the Newport Bay Club & Hotel was WELL UNDER $200 per night which left more in our wallets for eating and entertainment!! The hotel was above average and the staff was friendly, but PRICE and LOCATION are the winning ingredients here. We'd be fortunate to have the opportunity to stay here on a return visit to Newport.

Room Tip: Fourth-floor rooms are townhouses with balconies on both floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davemaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Newport Bay Club has a lot of pluses and also a few minuses. On the plus side is location, location, location. It is in downtown Newport in walking distance of many historic sites, the waterfront, shopping and many good restaurants. It has a gated parking lot where you can leave your car and walk to much of the town.

The staff is friendly and accommodating. There is free wifi, and our one bedroom suite was spacious with a comfortable bed. It was clean and it had an updated bathroom with a very large tiled shower. The kitchenette has a frig, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, dishwasher and granite counter tops. There is a free continental breakfast. The coffee is very good and they also provide yogurt, milk and fresh fruit. The muffins and sweet rolls wrapped in saran wrap are nothing special as others mentioned.

On the downside, our suite had an odd smell. I’ve noticed it before in ocean side hotels where the humidity is high. I didn’t see any signs of mold or anything that could be causing the smell. We eventually got used to it.

The other issue is the weekend noise. There was no problem during the week, but on the weekend we heard noise late at night. As other reviewers mentioned, there is a bar/club in the basement of the building. So we asked for a room on an upper floor. We were on the 3rd floor at the front end of the building near the street. We heard no noise from the bar in the basement, but there was a popular restaurant, the Red Parrot on the street corner opposite our room. We heard noise and music from the restaurant past midnight on Friday and Saturday. During the week there was no noise.

Balancing the pluses and minuses, I would stay there again. I would ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floor at the end of the building away from the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2fromGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here as the last hotel on our recent trip. Booked one of the townhouses so had great views across Newport. Plenty of space in the unit and a great location with free parking which we didn't expect.
Easy walking distance to most places and the bus station allows access to everything else so we never moved the car!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth MA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We frequent Newport at least 2-3 times a year. We have stayed in mostly all of the hotel/motel/B&B in our 20 years of going. This was our 2nd time to this hotel and it was great. We got a special rate off their web site and went on a Sunday & Monday night. We love the spaciousness of the suite. It includes a small kitchen, living room and separate bedroom overlooking the main road through Newport (Thames Street). Free wii fii and parking and continental breakfast sweeten the deal. We didn't notice noise between rooms or the music from the night club, but we were on the 3rd floor and the hotel was not busy. We have had other places in town with noisy patrons so I guess some people just don't care about disturbing others.

Room Tip: opt for the higher rooms to avoid street/night club noise on busy weekends or during the Summer. New...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nejorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

An otherwise great stay(convenient location, gated parking, friendly staff, two room suite, free wifi) ruined by paper thin walls, noisy neighbors and the loud,loud music coming from the night club in the basement until 1AM.

Don-Atlanta

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We (3 adult family members) stayed at time share due to exchange. We lucked out and got assigned a 1 bdrm 4th floor apartment. (I think we were 1 week past prime season). The 1 bdrm had a 2nd floor loft with full bathroom, balcony very spacious. The lower floor had kitchen and living room, kitchen, 1/2 bath and balcony. Getting to top floor you went up a spiral staircase (more on this later). The couch pulled out and the mattress was unusually comfortable. Breakfast was decent. Front desk was helpful. Maids were very friendly and great at cleaning. I drove to property but we didn't need to use car much. It was nice having a parking spot. As for location it was near everything but saying that most places (B&Bs and hotels) are walking distance and have parking. Newport is very walkable and everything is close. There were so many hotels, B&Bs, restaurants. I don't know how there is enough business for everyone. Still this property deserves it's high ratings. I saw the 2 bedrooms onthe 4th floor and they have a sturdy staircase instead of spiral staircase and 2 bedrooms upstairs. I don't think the rooms are handicapped accessible for people who have difficulty climbing stairs;however I'm sure the lower floors are on one level and they are handicapped accessible. The building has a large elevator. The unit was pretty quiet. It was a good time to visit, just past prime season but still lots of activity and great weather.

Room Tip: request 4th floor when making booking through timeshare exchange. If you have problem with stairs, r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rempt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.4 mi away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#8 of 21 in Newport
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Bay Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Bay Club & Hotel

Property: Newport Bay Club & Hotel
Address: 337 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newport Bay Club & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Club is an all-suite hotel located on the Harborfront in downtown Newport, RI. Beautiful one and two bedroom suites and multi level townhouses with kitchens, living and dining areas. Sweeping views from our private outside decks. Located at the intersection of America's Cup Avenue and Thames Street, this prime address allows you to leave your vehicle in our private lot (parking is included for ONE vehicle only) and walk to all of downtown Newport's offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Bay Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Bay Club And Hotel
Newport Bay Club Hotel Newport
Newport Bay Hotel
Bay Club Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing