We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
69
35
20
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
35
20
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean cliff safari room overlooking narragansett bay porch overlooking the water beautiful wedding venue bed mattress daughter's wedding event staff continental breakfast hotel is beautiful my husband and i off season timeshare guests lawn toaster townhouse
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 148 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017

Attended an outdoor summer wedding here. It was beautiful. The reception was lovely. The hotel doesn't have individual thermostats for each room, so I froze in the air conditioning. Service in the Safari Room Restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather I, Front Office Manager at OceanCliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Phyllis S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for your visit with us in July! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time at the outdoor wedding that you joined us for and that you experienced excellent service in our on-site restaurant.

As you've noted, most of our rooms are on a central system for heating and cooling; requests for adjustments are accepted by the front desk and they monitor the systems with all requests that they receive in mind. Additional blankets and heating units are also available at any time.

We hope to have the opportunity to have you with us in the future to provide you with a more comfortable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017

We have spent a week here and enjoyed the stay in a comfortable two story townhouse with a private 2nd floor porch overlooking the water. The location is private and elegant with a free shuttle running several days to avoid parking downtown for activities. Very helpful staff made the stay even better. Only thing missing is a fitness center, but it's very close to the coastal walking path.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms let you avoid bugs and have a better view of the water.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SedonaVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather I, Front Office Manager at OceanCliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

SedonaVoyager,

Unfortunately it appears that you have posted to the wrong business. It seems that you had intended to leave a review for the timeshare property, OceanCliff I & II, that shares our property.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/VacationRentalReview-g60978-d10396480-Oceancliff_I_II-Newport_Rhode_Island.html

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed with the very dated decor. Although the rooms were very spacious. The old musky carpet and bedding made for a long night!! We will not be returning unless they under go a major facelift!!

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather I, Front Office Manager at OceanCliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Ed R,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for your recent stay; it is with regret that we were not notified of your dissatisfaction prior to your departure. Please know that all of our mattresses were replaced within one month of your review; we will look further into this and will share your comments with our housekeeping team for addressing.

We will look forward to the opportunity to serve you better on a future visit to Newport!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

We attended a beautiful wedding at this place and the setting was really nice with beautiful view of the bay and the place is really nice. The food was mediocre. Our steak was out of the space shuttle and overall the meal was at best average.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank glepore001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather I, Front Office Manager at OceanCliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

glepore001,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. We are glad that you were able to take in the beautiful scenery and are sorry to hear of your experience with the entree that you received. I have shared your comments with our Chef so that this may be prevented in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2017

The OceanCliff Hotel is a spectacular venue to host a wedding. We attended an outdoor wedding just before sunset on the hotel site overlooking Narragansett Bay, and the reception was indoors. The experience was quite memorable. The hotel is beautiful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sej60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather I, Front Office Manager at OceanCliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2017

esj59,

Thank you for your glowing review! We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us as you celebrated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews