We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic inn - amazing views. Overnight for a wedding”
Review of OceanCliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
OceanCliff Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Batavia, il
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic inn - amazing views. Overnight for a wedding”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The property is quite incredible, and what a beautiful venue for a wedding. Sunset over the bay during dinner was the perfect touch. If this area is an option for a wedding - you'd have to put it on the short-list for sure. Food was very nicely done. Wait staff was plentiful and top-notch.

We arrived a few hours before the wedding and they had a nice fire going in one of the front parlor rooms, with hot apple cider and cookies waiting. So we pulled up a couple of chairs and enjoyed the fire. Good living.

As for our hotel stay. We stayed in the primary hotel - not one of the Oceancliff 1&2 units on the property. We spent a few extra dollars for one of their nicest rooms, 1 & 7 are evidently their best ones. We were in 1. Nice corner unit, good size, gorgeous room (especially the ceiling), fireplace, and view. Great bathroom with jetted tub too.

Would have given it an excellent rating, but I think there were a few items a bit off the mark - not bad, just not excellent. 1) Tea - my wife loves her tea, and surprisingly they didn't have it as an option out with the hot cider, or even available with our continental breakfast the next morning? 2) Kuerig in the room - awesome, but no cream and sugar? 3) The Sunday am continental breakfast was very basic - and looks they dont' even serve a full breakfast (this time of year anyway). 4) the bed - mattress a bit firm, and as for the pillows, they could learn a thing or two from the bigger chains. We had a beautiful bed, with 4 pillows, but each was the same - BIG and FIRM. So if you like a soft, small pillow - out of luck.

Beautiful location, great place and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bradley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    25
    17
    10
    10
See reviews for
36
35
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Spent a night here as part of a Valentine's Day package and couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more. Ashley from the front desk was so sweet and super helpful in getting us a new room even late in the evening. The special valentine's day menu at the Safari Room was excellent and our server Matt was friendly and personable. The rooms were great and we really had a nice stay thanks to everyone we met. Will definitely return in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonA449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Location is excellent, beautiful views overlooking the ocean. Great rooms for wedding photos, spacious, well lit, beautiful fireplace added ambivalence to a chilly, windy Saturday afternoon and evening. Waitstaff courteous, very attentive; food was very good and served very timely. Enjoyed immensely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I had my wedding at OceanCliff during January, I was so excited because it was such a unique place to hold a wedding, and the views were STUNNING from the ballroom. It rained on my big day, and I was understandably upset, but OceanCliff made everything perfect still, from the WONDERFUL staff, to the great food and drinks, to the smallest detail being taking care of by everyone. It truly was my dream come true, and I could not recommend it more! All my wedding party and family stayed in the mansion, the ceremony and reception were in the ballroom, the after party and brunch were in the Safari room, and other guests could stay just steps away in the condos OceanCliff 1 and 2 next door! It was all so convenient for me and my guests! We LOVE Oceancliff and will hopefully go back there again to celebrate soon!

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view are WORTH the extra money. The views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We went here for a wedding in January. We did not stay here overnight. The grounds were well kept and the views of the ocean and the sunset were breathtaking. The service was very good and it seemed as if you needed something there was someone right there to help. The food was very good. The safari room was a cool little bar area with some music and a couple of tv's to catch up on the game. It was a great night overall. One complaint. No coors light. So that's not to bad when everything else was so good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregthenewguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Attended a post-holiday brunch/party at this mansion. The landscape and ocean view were breathtaking. The hotel Victorian era interior was highly classy and brimming with elegance. The variety and quality of food were excellent including every item one could think of from omelets to lobster tails to a pastry station, and everything in-between. I was totally blown away by the attention to detail and quality, particularly for such a large group. This establishment was well equipped to handle a large gathering and had plenty of courteous and intuitive wait staff at every turn.

I would highly recommend this place for any and all large gatherings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SB5248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went to Ocean Cliff 1 and 2 recommended by RCI. Perfect weekend getaway from NJ with the family to celebrate my 43rd bday. Accomodations were perfect for a family of 7. We will definitely be returning. Beautiful view and place was clean. We love Newport and we will be returning her soon and for a longer stay!

Once we got there - shuttle service was a plus. Did not need to drive anymore :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.4 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
2.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,995 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
2.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OceanCliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OceanCliff Hotel

Property: OceanCliff Hotel
Address: 65 Ridge Rd, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — OceanCliff Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OceanCliff Resort was designed and built in 1864 by the architectural firm Peabody & Stearns from Boston who designed the original Breakers and Doris Duke's Rough Point both located on elegant Bellevue Avenue. A wealthy industrialist and member of Mrs. Astor's 400 Club originally used OceanCliff as a private summer residence during the Gilded Age. The estate remained a private summer home until 1954, when it was sold and later converted into an oceanfront retreat to host lavish parties and society affairs. Located on 10 acres of rolling lawns with spectacular ocean views, OceanCliff offers a truly unique blend of breathtaking beauty, world-class cuisine and a professionally trained staff to ensure meticulous attention to every detail of your stay. Twenty-four distinctly stylized guest rooms whisk you back to the 19th century with modern conveniences and stunning oceanfront views. OceanCliff's grand ballroom accommodates from 75-250 guests for dinner and dancing, while a variety of smaller rooms allow for more intimate gatherings. Set amidst the breathtaking splendor of the Narragansett Bay, OceanCliff has inspired generations of brides with some of the most enchanting landscapes in Newport, Rhode Island. Whether you prefer a romantic summer sunset celebration or a unique winter white wedding, OceanCliff offers a variety of wedding and reception options. OceanCliff is located on historic Ocean Drive with easy access to downtown Newport and is only a 90-minute drive from Boston and Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your OceanCliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceancliff Hotel Newport
Ocean Cliff Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing