We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of OceanCliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
OceanCliff Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family stayed here for 7 days. The location was the best; right on Ocean Drive. The resort was beautiful. The views were remarkable of Narragansett Bay. We enjoyed the unit, with its kitchen, guest bathroom and master bedroom and bath. The shuttle service to the beach and downtown was the best; and Mike, the driver, was awesome in telling us different things as we drove by them. We will be chosing this resort again when we return to Rhode Island. I think this resort is one of the best in the Newport area. Do not hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 128 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were staying at Oceancliff II after a week in NYC. We wanted somewhere as a contrast and through timeshare points we were limited so picked Newport as it looked ideal to travel to Boston and beyond.
We were amazed when we arrived, such a wonderful location. The building and gardens are well maintained.
The huge bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in and we have done luxury before we had kids! the sofa bed for our kids was less comfy but adequate.
Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the bay was a good start to the day with simple kitchen facilities good enough for toasted bagels and eggs.
We thought the location was ideal, just along Ocean Drive and an easy drive into Newport. Chris and his free shuttle into town was an added bonus.
Thanks to all the staff for an enjoyable stay.
We miss Newport after such a good time there. For the Brits, It reminded us of the best bits of Southwold, Salcombe, North Norfolk and Newquay all rolled into one, and with the best US seafood and burgers. (watch the waistline though).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 126lhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited Ocean Cliff on several occasions over the 4th for a wedding. The food and service at Safari room was fantastic. However the rest of the hotel was not comparable. Friends staying at the hotel complained of lackluster housekeeping. The night manager was rude to our party (along with many of the staff) at the end of the evening shift. They all seemed to rather get home than help us. The catered food (not sure from where) was bland. No seasoning on the meats and the pasta sauce was runny and terrible. Outside the beautiful location I was happy that I did not stay the night at this hotel. I would not recommend staying here or hosting a function outside of the Safari Room (but choices are limited so you may be forced to if Newport if your city of choice...)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank e_dibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days over the Memorial Day holiday The location and views are really wonderful. Grab a bottle of wine and watch the sunset from the patio for a real treat. We stayed in a 1 bedroom / 2 bath unit on the first floor which was spacious and well appointed. We liked the fireplace...but the main asset was the view of the bay. The biggest negative was that the pool and hot tub were not big enough for the number of guests and that there was no adult section...so we couldn't use any of the amenities...who wants to sit in a hot tub crowded with young kids? ...not a relaxing idea...for that reason alone, I would most likly not go back, but over all it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sthompsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We got a 1BR suite which included a kitchen, and pull-out couches to sleep 6, and it was amazing. Well-priced, beautiful view, kitchen had utensils and everything you might need, and a porch overlooking the water.

Booked it as a weekend instead of as a timeshare, and while it's a bit far out (3mi or so from town) there is a courtesy shuttle to get you into town, and cabs from town are about $10, which is not bad at all.

Very comfortable.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BCNY100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was a birthday weekend for myself, along with my husband. The units are beautiful!! Very nicely decorated and roomy. The views are out of this world, watching the sailboats sail by and the rolling hills. The fact that they had a shuttle to town was just an nice extra. Would and will be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I spend 2 weeks a year in June & September at Oceancliff. With the recent update of all of the units combined with the lawn rolling towards Narragansett Bay and Jamestown in the background, you will find Oceancliff to be very welcoming. Brenton Point State Park with views of the open Atlantic is just a fifteen minute walk which also takes you past the Coast Guard Station and Castle Hill Resort(you can see and hear the weddings from Oceancliff's lawn). The beautiful Mansions of Bellvue Avenue are a ten minute drive from Oceancliff. Oceancliff also has a laundry facility on site for longer visits, indoor pool and hot tub with an outside deck to enjoy your evening cocktail. You must visit the Oceancliff Restaurant in the mansion/hotel which is the centerpiece of the property and formerly belonged to Woolworth heiress Barbara Hutton. Superb food, great views, and Sunday afternooon Jazz. Put this on your list for your next vacation.

Room Tip: The Tower Units offer the best views. These are townhouse style units that have an upstairs master b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,068 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
690 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
2.5 mi away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OceanCliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OceanCliff Hotel

Address: 65 Ridge Rd, Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $219 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — OceanCliff Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OceanCliff Resort was designed and built in 1864 by the architectural firm Peabody & Stearns from Boston who designed the original Breakers and Doris Duke's Rough Point both located on elegant Bellevue Avenue. A wealthy industrialist and member of Mrs. Astor's 400 Club originally used OceanCliff as a private summer residence during the Gilded Age. The estate remained a private summer home until 1954, when it was sold and later converted into an oceanfront retreat to host lavish parties and society affairs. Located on 10 acres of rolling lawns with spectacular ocean views, OceanCliff offers a truly unique blend of breathtaking beauty, world-class cuisine and a professionally trained staff to ensure meticulous attention to every detail of your stay. Twenty-four distinctly stylized guest rooms whisk you back to the 19th century with modern conveniences and stunning oceanfront views. OceanCliff's grand ballroom accommodates from 75-250 guests for dinner and dancing, while a variety of smaller rooms allow for more intimate gatherings. Set amidst the breathtaking splendor of the Narragansett Bay, OceanCliff has inspired generations of brides with some of the most enchanting landscapes in Newport, Rhode Island. Whether you prefer a romantic summer sunset celebration or a unique winter white wedding, OceanCliff offers a variety of wedding and reception options. OceanCliff is located on historic Ocean Drive with easy access to downtown Newport and is only a 90-minute drive from Boston and Hartford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your OceanCliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceancliff Hotel Newport
Ocean Cliff Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing