We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; friendly innkeeper”
Review of Chart House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chart House Inn
Ranked #36 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location; friendly innkeeper”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My sister and I stayed for one night to participate in my niece's bachelorette party. It was within walking distance of downtown, and had free parking, which was very convenient. We had a room with two twin beds. The private bath was down the hall, and the shower, although small, had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Margaret served a simple breakfast (English muffins, bagels, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee and tea), which was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzysMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Margaret's hospitality was great, she tried very hard to make sure we were comfortable and her breakfasts were lovely. The property does need some tlc however, a few things were broken or tired. Just some general repairs and upkeep would make a big difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunny99Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The location is perfect, walking distance from waterfront, restaurants, shopping. Margaret, the person who manages the property, was very nice and helpful. The house is old and in need of some repairs. We booked several rooms. There was no curtain or shade in one of the bathrooms. One blind fell off its bracket while trying to lower it. A knob pulled out of a closet door, and shelving in one bathroom was very rusty. The rooms do not have TVs. It was clean, however, and the downstairs sitting area is lovely. The breakfast was a typical Continental breakfast- no hot food, and food was the same each day. Not bad for the price, but it could be so much nicer with a little work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avkatnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I am the Mother of the Bride who booked the Inn for my daughter's Wedding Weekend, mid August. I cannot say enough about how well we were treated. The rooms are all attractive and very well maintained. The Innkeeper went above and beyond to accommodate our needs, particularly in regard to the rehearsal reception. The Inn is located within walking distance of the historical sites, as well as the popular restaurants and bars. There was something for everyone's taste. I am so glad I picked this locaton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TPAMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chart House Inn for two nights in the middle of August. We are from North Carolina and were in town for his cousin's wedding. The inn was so charming and beautiful. The innkeeper was gracious and welcoming and we were well taken care of. She allowed the wedding party to book the entire inn and to use the common area for the rehearsal dinner. This is the first trip we took away from our daughter and it was romantic and intimate, even though there were other people staying at the inn. The rooms are lovely and the service was excellent. It was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast, and it is definitely something I will do again!

Room Tip: Room 1 is at the front of the house and has beautiful bay windows that let the sun in in the afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I spent the 4th of July holiday at the Chart House Inn, and had a fantastic time! We cannot recommend it highly enough to Newport visitors. Innkeeper Margaret was warm and welcoming, and our room was clean and cool, despite the heat outside—Margaret had graciously turned on the air conditioning in anticipation of our arrival!

The Chart House is in a great location to see Newport with very reasonable rates for downtown; we were able to park there and walk to everything right from our Chart House “home base”. We walked to our sail on the Aquidneck—highly recommended also—walked the historic surrounding neighborhood, shopped on the waterfront, and ate at some great restaurants nearby. The old Artillery Co. building/Museum across the street was open for the holiday, too, and we got to view old military armament and uniforms—they even fired the cannons (some made at Paul Revere’s own foundry!) that day, too—very cool if you’re a history buff!

Our CHI B&B breakfasts were delicious, as well. Margaret was very accommodating to our vegan diet; she had prepared a delicious fruit salad, there were cereals, bagels and bread to toast, tea and coffee and juice to drink--the works! As busy as I know she must be, Margaret even sat down and spent some time getting to know us during the meal—we were very impressed with her personable hospitality.

While staying at CHI, be sure to plan some time to enjoy the front porch swing. In the shade up on the porch you can take in the neighborhood activity, wave at the always-friendly passers-by, and enjoy the sight and smell of the plentiful hydrangeas nearby—New England relaxation at its best! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Newport, the Chart House Inn, the Inn’s other guests, and the Innkeeper Margaret. If you’re headed to Newport for any reason, stay here. You won’t regret it!

Room Tip: Some of CHI's baths are across the hall (understandably--the house is very old and beautiful)so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stayed at the Chart House over the New Year's holiday and was totally captivated by this great Inn. It was clean and beautiful, right in the heart of Newport, walking distance to everything.
I became so relaxed by hearing the Newport church bells and fog horns at night, that I wanted to stay forever. It has a beautiful sun room in the front facing Clarke Street, which was so delightful. The room was large and spacious with a beautiful 4-poster bed. The bathroom was state-of-the-art, with great water pressure, fans, and heat. Margaret, the inn keeper, was very pleasant and gracious. It was so great, what a hidden gem in Newport. I can't wait for my next visit to Newport and the Chart House.

Room Tip: The large room on the second floor facing Clarke Street is awesome. Great for couples on a romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#35 of 95 in Newport
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral Sims' House
Admiral Sims' House
#54 of 95 in Newport
21 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belle View Inn
Belle View Inn
#53 of 95 in Newport
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yankee Peddler Inn
Yankee Peddler Inn
#26 of 95 in Newport
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
0.2 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chart House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chart House Inn

Property: Chart House Inn
Address: 16 Clarke St, Newport, RI 02840-3024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chart House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chart House Inn is a nautically inspired, Queen Anne inn built in 1880 as a men's boarding house. The inn is surrounded by historic homes, churches, parks and museums and is just a few blocks from Thames Street and the waterfront. The Inn's eight uniquly appointed bedrooms with private baths accommodate up to sixteen guests. All guest rooms and Suites are furnished with air conditioner and have private bathrooms en suite, or across the hall, for your comfort. Our Suites include a sitting area with cable TV and fully stocked kitchenettes with mini-frig and coffee maker. The Chart House specializes in whole house rentals for families, weddings, boat crews, reunions and business retreats. Single night and extended stay reservations are welcome. Guests relax in our gracious Living Room with leather sofa, club chairs and cable TV, our charming parlor room with gas fireplace, our two front porches overlooking scenic Clarke Street, or in our outdoor grill area. A Continental breakfast is offered to all guests each morning in our spacious dining room. Free Wi-Fi, free parking, pet-friendly and smoke free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chart House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing