We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Felt Like Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Street Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spring Street Inn
Ranked #27 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Felt Like Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Pat is a cheerful and accommodating host, an excellent cook, and very knowledgeable about the Newport area and its history. My husband and I stayed for two nights while in town to attend the Halloween party at Belcourt Castle, and we were so pleased with the Harborview Suite! It was really a special treat and I recommend this place to any couple looking for a little getaway. Thanks Pat! See you next year!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge on the Harborview Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    60
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
37
286
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked a room at Spring street inn as it was consistently named as 1 of the top 10 B&Bs in Newport. I could not have made a better choice.
My room at Spring street inn had a canopy bed & a stunning red chaise lounge in it. Pat. the host , was extremely warm & friendly & greeted me at the door. She offered me lifts in the neighbourhood when I had to pull my heavy luggage along & did not drive. She prepared refreshing lemonade & cookies for my snacks upon my late arrival.
She cooked the breakfast in the morning. I ordered the blueberry crepes & the crepes were delicious! She offered me tips & great advice on attractions in Newport & new York(my destination after Newport). Service from the heart! In addition, this top B&B had a great collection of travel books & magazines which would entice any traveller. If you are stopping by Newport, you have to stay at springstreet inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taysiewhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, MA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this inn for our anniversay. This inn has a great location - you can walk to almost everything. It also has parking if you need to bring a car, but make it a small car as parking is tight. We stayed in the Harborview suite on the 3rd floor which had a small deck with a great view of the harbor (also great view from livingroom). I would caution that if you have difficulty climbing stairs, you should not consider this suite as the flight of stairs to the 3rd floor are a bit steep and treachorous (typical of homes of this era).

Breakfast was nice - served a quiche, french toast/waffles, scrambled eggs, sausages, home fries, hot biscuits, hot muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, cold cereal, juice, coffee, and tea. The innkeeper, Pat, has quite a selection. Pat is also extremely friendly and knowledgeable. She recommended a great restaurant to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: Stairs to 3rd floor are steep so make sure you are able to deal with this if you choose a room there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winsome_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My sister and I traveled the long trip from Australia to the best welcome in Newport ! To be met by Patricia, the kindest, warmest, best cook and tour director made us feel immediately at home in the Rose Room at Spring Street. Our five nights and days, full of memorable experiences, sights, great food, especially Patricia's gourmet breakfasts were all treats for sore eyes and feet! We loved the cool drinks and madelines left for afternoon tea after long days viewing mansions and having " dark & stormies" on board a fully furled ketch sailing around the Newport harbour!
The comfy beds,air conditioned rooms, clean towels every day were very much appreciated.
Patricia helped us to get the most from Newport and its special attractions with her generous advice and exceptional knowledge.Thank you Patricia,for sharing your home with us. We hope that many others will enjoy the same privilege.
best wishes from Suzanne and Paula, Australia

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emrypaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It is always a pleasure to stay here. This B&B is only 2 blocks from Thames Street and 3 from Bellevue. Pat is fantastic and makes you feel very welcome. She has lots of ideas for things to do in the area. My friends and I look forward to coming back every year--next year will be at least the 5th time we've stayed here. Yes, it's that lovely!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just returned from Newport and a stay at the Spring Street Inn. We enjoyed our stay very much. The B&B was centrally located to all of the must see attractions of Newport. Pat, the owner, was so well informed of the area and an excellent cook!

Room Tip: We stayed in the the 3rd floor suite, which provided a great view of the harbor and was far enough a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

While I did not stay at this Inn, I showed up there by mistake and should have been somewhere else. The owner initially complained about how I parked and seemed rude. When she realized my girlfriend and I were not her guests her demeanor changed even more towards the rude and condescending. She said the inn that we wanted was by the men's shelter and that she has been in business so many years and they have not.

Her whole attitude was about herself and in no way did she try to get us to our correct destination. Once again, while I did not stay there, I would not recommend this inn because of her poor attitude. A common courtesy would have been to tell us how to get to our destination and be polite about it. She was nothing of the sort!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Samuel Durfee House
Samuel Durfee House
#13 of 102 in Newport
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bouchard Inn
Bouchard Inn
#18 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#22 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#7 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#31 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#12 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Street Inn

Property: Spring Street Inn
Address: 353 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6821
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
424 thames street Thames Street is a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom condo located in the heart of downtown newport. This a second floor property, directly above retail shops. Each bedroom has a king size bed that sleeps 6 guests. Roof top deck, full kitchen, living area, wifi, and one parking spot. Pet friendly with a $150 refundable deposit. Cleaning fee of $200 will be charged for two or more night stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Spring Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Street Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing