We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair ? No---- Excellent !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fair Street Guest House
Ranked #28 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Rhode Island
1 review
“Fair ? No---- Excellent !”
Reviewed November 21, 2008

A beautiful moonlit night...A glass of wine...A view to the harbor....The secret garden ambience....AND Great conversation with other guests from all over...What more coul;d my wife and I ask for ? ....We experienced the meaning of life....Wayne and Denise are the perfect host and hostess.....FROM THE GREAT MEALS TO SOME GREAT LAUGHS !..It was perfect and has been the 2 times that we stayed -WE'LL BE BACK AND WE'RE TELLING ALL OUR FRIENDS AND RELATIVES..its so nice to be so close to everything in town and then to return to QUIET -PEACEFUL FAIR STREET.....WITH ALL THE COMFORTS OF HOME ...ITS MUCH MORE THAN FAIR....ITS EXCELLENT !

  • Liked — Comfort -- convenience & food !
  • Disliked — ....couldn't stay longer !
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RhodeIslandVoiceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    43
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
119
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
boscon
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2008

Wayne and Denise are great. They have three buildings which are part of the Bed and Breakfast. They cook your breakfast to order, the rooms are clean and comfortable. They are in the middle of everything. We did not move our car for three days. St. Mary[s Church next door was great....
JFK was married there.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank boscol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2008

The Fair Street Guest Houses offered exactly what we were looking for: a one of a kind experience, with the ease and comfort of being downtown. Our room was not only quiet, spacious, and cozy, but also had a softness and attention to detail we like. I would highly recommend this B&B when staying in Newport.

  • Liked — Friendly service and good taste
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kelmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2008

My husband and I have been staying at the Fair Street Guest House annually for 5 years. Denise and Wayne are warm and caring people who always make sure you are comfortable. We have had the pleasure of staying in each room of the main house and they are all decorated with unique charm and character.

Not only is everything about the Inn amazing, but the location is prime with parking! It sits behind the Red Parrot and is within walking distance of the entire downtown/waterfront area. For us, that is a huge benefit!

Denise and Wayne's local knowledge is endless and they always have a great recommendations for amazing restaurants and fantastic deals! Breakfast is always our favorite time as there is always fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and juice. Wayne's scrambled eggs are something that my husband and I look forward to all year! He still won't tell us his secret!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MissHilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2008

I wasn't sure what to expect with my first stay at a Bed and Breakfast, but let me tell you, this place was perfect. The location could not be better, it's in the heart of downtown newport. The prime shopping, restaurants, and bars are all a short walk, a few less than 200 feet! Surprisingly, once you're inside, you can't believe the peace and quiet. The accommodations were immaculate, and the decor gives you a sense of the local newport history. The innkeepers, Wayne and Denise, were professional, and they really made sure that all of my needs were addressed and promptly taken care of. The Fair Street Guest House has the location, the reputation, and the comfort that I will look for in all future B&B stays. I can't wait to come back.

  • Liked — Location to all of the downtown action in Newport
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NavyMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We needed a weekend away and this was just the place. The location is fantastic. On site free parking and we could walk everywhere. Room was very clean and tastefully decorated. We'll definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bicycledoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We spent a long weekend at Fair Street and will definitely be back. We stayed in one of the four rooms in the main house and were pleasantly surprised that the room was as spacious as it was. The location couldn't be beat--it is a block off of Thames Street and a few blocks to the wharfs. Breakfast was a huge treat--french toast, waffles, eggs, bacon, fruit. Really good coffee. The offstreet parking was definitely a money saver considering that the nearby lots were $10+. The owners were great--very knowledgable of the local restaurants and attractions. On some mornings, we did hear the trash and delivery trucks, but we were already up by then.

  • Liked — The owners and the convenience to everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quadragenarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 mi away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#33 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#18 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Wynstone
The Wynstone
#65 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chart House Inn
Chart House Inn
#35 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#34 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howland House Inn
Howland House Inn
#48 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Street Guest House

Property: Fair Street Guest House
Address: 20 & 28 Fair St., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fair Street Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Fair Street Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Street Guest House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing