We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll miss Mary!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gardenview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Mary is one of the sweetest B&B owners we've ever come across. Sure, she's a little too talkative, but she tries oh-so-hard to provide a tasty breakfast and make sure your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. With how expensive Newport is, we found Gardenview to be excellent value, particularly considering its location just a short drive from the beach and mansions as well as the downtown area. We stayed in the downstairs' room which was clean and roomy, perfect for our purposes. And now Mary has wireless interest - an unexpected surprise! We will certainly return on a future trip to Newport.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank CUBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 39 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I spent an extra long weekend in Newport in June. We wanted to find a place that has great food and is reasonably priced. We found it in Gardenview B&B. At each of the breakfasts there were scones and granola with yogurt in addition to the main meal. My favorite was the french toast made with a sweet bread. It was amazing. She also offered fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, tea and water. Delicious!!

Mary is very friendly and knowledgeable about Newport and directed us to some great things to do. She also offered us a discount for the mansion tours, which was an unexpected perk. The location was good. It was a walkable distance to most everywhere we wanted to go, but if the weather had been warmer, we probably would have wanted to take a bike or car.

We stayed in the Garden Room on the first floor. It was nice. My husband slept really well, but I had a hard time sleeping - but that probably had more to do with my pregnancy than the bed though.

If we return to Newport, we would stay there again!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MBandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I went to Newport for a long weekend to celebrate my birthday. We stayed in the Sun-Lit suite on the second floor - huge, airy, and private wih lovely antiques and many comfortable touches - a chaise lounge by the open widow overlooking the garden, bottled water awaiting us in the little hidden fridge, chocolate truffles in a bowl on a dresser...

Because it is located off the beaten path, it is quiet there, but still an easy walk to the Thames Street dining and shopping area and the waterfront. The owner, Mary Fitzgerald, is friendly and hospitable, with a warm and welcoming manner and in-depth knowledge of Newport, since she is a native. She was able to provide us with a special deal on Mansion tickets, which we were glad to use. Her breakfasts were delicious, too.

Bottom line, I can't see any reason to stay anywhere else while visiting Newport. If I were to return there, I would head straight for the Gardenview B&B and that Sun-Lit suite!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms at this facility - actually, this is another selling point! We did not see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed in the Garden Room, first floor, with easy access to a beautiful backyard garden with picnic table, chairs, fountains and many birds, singing sweetly. Our queen bed was comfortable and our small bathroom very adequate. The sitting room between our sleeping room and the kitchen/dining area was stocked with useful tourist information and free "serve yourself" coffee and tea. Breakfast was cooked for us, based on the owner's menu--for us, a warm, syrupy thick french toast on day 1, thick griddle cakes on day 2, and bacon and eggs on day 3. Each day we had freshly squeezed orange juice and homemade chocolate chip scones as well. There is a second floor room with king bed and more spacious accomodations. Gardenview is near the end of the Newport peninsula, very close to Bellevue Ave and the mansions and not far from Gooseberry Beach and Ft. Adams. Its an easy bike ride to town. We were there in early spring and a magnolia bloomed in the front with cherry trees ablaze all around town. Traffic this time of year is scant. We were able to get around and visit all of the sights. In fact, we were probably early, as the tourist season seems to begin closer to Memorial Day (May 31) at which time the Gardenview's owner will be done with her school teaching and more available to help out with guests. Nevertheless, we had a very good time and loved the location and our accommodations.

Room Tip: 1st floor Garden view room has a queen and access to the lovely garden. 2nd floor room has a king b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed there for two nights and it was great. The room is big and very comfortable. The place is so quiet and we enjoyed the sound of the birds in the morning!Mary was such a great hostess and we loved the breakfast she cooked. Her house is very well located in fact as close to the cliff walk and the mansions. Also by car it is a 5-10mn drive to the city center. It was my boyfriend's birthday gift and he loved it so much!
If we were to come back to Newport, we will definitly come back at this B&B. Merci for everything and a big hug to Fitsy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARIE et BEN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights in the Sun-Lite Suite and enjoyed it very much. The room is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The inn is located in a residential section of town, so it is quiet. It is also a ten to fiteen minute walk to Thames Street, Cliff Walk and many restaurants. Mary the owner is very nice and accomodating, and prepared great breakfasts.

This is a very good choice if you are looking for a quiet B&B in a residential setting, away from the noise of downtown but close enough to walk to most everything you want to do in Newport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it! Mary was a great hostess, made us feel like home from the second we got there. The food was delicious and homemade!! We had everything we needed! We left our car at the city hall one night (after a wedding and a few drinks), and she offered to take us to pick it up the following morning!! The hospitality was just amazing!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank ManuelaMorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.8 mi away
Admiral Sims' House
Admiral Sims' House
#21 of 96 in Newport
45 reviews
1.3 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#20 of 96 in Newport
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Clarkeston
The Clarkeston
#43 of 96 in Newport
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#14 of 96 in Newport
519 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#26 of 96 in Newport
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#16 of 96 in Newport
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8 Binney St., Newport, RI 02840-4304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $147 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardenview Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Gardenview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing