We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cozy and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gardenview Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #40 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it! Mary was a great hostess, made us feel like home from the second we got there. The food was delicious and homemade!! We had everything we needed! We left our car at the city hall one night (after a wedding and a few drinks), and she offered to take us to pick it up the following morning!! The hospitality was just amazing!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank ManuelaMorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Gardenview B&B for two nights and had a great experience there. The host, Mary, was an absolute doll: warm, accomodating, and a great cook! We stayed in what Mary described as the "smaller" room, but the room was quite large, with a very comfortable mattress, en suite bathroom and access to the garden. The house is located near town -- a nice walk or a very short drive away.

We looked at many B&Bs in Newport and many of them are fairly expensive. The Gardenview was significantly less than the others we looked at and was just as nice or nicer than the others. And Mary is just a wonderful host, she really makes you feel right at home. Plus, she is a fantastic cook. Each morning she served homebaked scones, homemade granola and fruit. For the first morning, she served delcicious strawberry pancakes. For the second, the best french toast I have ever had.

This is truly a great place to stay in Newport and a total bargain. Thanks for everything, Mary!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zack g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for five nights while we were on vacation in Newport and it was lovely. Great to be so close to the major attractions but still removed in a residential setting. We could walk or bike everywhere, beaches, mansions, downtown and still come back to our peaceful room at night. And, a huge plus which was a very pleasant surprise, there are tennis courts right around the corner in a beautiful park. The innkeeper, Mary, is an absolute sweetheart. And, she makes delicious breakfasts every morning with fresh squeezed orange juice. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sdrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This sweet little B & B is located within walking distance of most of Newport's attractions. It's very quiet, has a lovely backyard garden that both rooms have views of, and best of all the innkeeper, Mary, has the heart of a true hostess and is so helpful and accommodating! She made our time there extra special.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyChunkaMunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I recently enjoyed our second stay at Gardenview and plan to return. The location is great - near the village, mansions and beach. The rooms are elegant yet comfortable. The innkeeper makes you feel like family. Breakfasts are amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy23r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I loved this place. LOVED this place. Not only is it within walking distance of all the best Newport has to offer, not only are the rooms spacious and welcoming, not only will you be so well fed, you will think you're at you grandmother's table, you will not be able to resist the charming and lovely hostess with the mostess... Mary. My only wish in life is for Mary to move to Chicago so my wife and I can become best friends with her. So warm, so friendly and so sincere... and that also describes this B&B perfectly. Newport is one of the most charming cities I've had the pleasure to visit... and your trip will be that much more enjoyable if you choose to let Mary take you under her wing on your stay. Can't wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed only one night, but we didn't want to leave. Beautiful, private, and charming and only 15 minute walk to downtown Newport. The owner was wonderful and welcoming. We would go back just to see her again. Cheap price and a delicious breakfast, Best stay in Newport!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lubee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.8 mi away
Admiral Sims' House
Admiral Sims' House
#21 of 96 in Newport
45 reviews
1.3 mi away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#20 of 96 in Newport
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Clarkeston
The Clarkeston
#43 of 96 in Newport
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#14 of 96 in Newport
519 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#26 of 96 in Newport
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#16 of 96 in Newport
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8 Binney St., Newport, RI 02840-4304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $147 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardenview Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Gardenview Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing